Skip to main content

Full text of "Colchester worthies. a biographical index of Colchester"

See other formats


GENEALOGY 


COLLECTION 


OLDEN    TIME. 

portraits  copied  from  those  in  E.  P.  Strutt's  Note  Book  at  the  Museum.  The  sporting 
gentlemirs.  Frye."  Capt.  Crane  in  the  foreground  is  the  next  figure  talking  to  Lieut.  Andrews. 
The  shoirtist,  is  the  portly  figure  in  front,  and  the  tall  thin  man  a  little  to  his  left  is  Dr.  Mann. 
Behind  ihockell"  with  the  spectacles,  and  arm-in-arm  with  him  Rev.  Yorick  Smythies.  who  met 
with  an    Marshal,"  a  teacher  of  music,  familiarly  known  as  "  Old  Never-die." 


COLCHESTER    WORTHIES. 


BIOGRAPHICAL    INDEX 


OF 

COLCHESTER. 


CHARLES    E.    BENHAM. 


LONDON: 

Simpkin,  Marshall,  Hamilton,  Kent  &  Co.,  Limited. 

COLCHESTER: 
T.    Forster,    High    Street. 


.-       &   >.V  0  ) 


HIGH    STREET,    COLCHESTER,    IN    THE    OLDEN    TIME. 


The  above  represents 
nan  in  the  foreground  to 
ort  stout  lady  behind  U 
is  George  Hewitt  a  bookbi 
i  untimely  death,  by  falling 


it  the  foreground  u>  the  right  is  Duke  Hamilton,  Coachmastur,  of  the  King's  Head. 

.tout  lady  behind  is  "  Mrs.  Fisher,"  and  beside  her,  looking  up,  stands  "  Mr.  Shettleworth."     J. 


COLCHESTER    WORTHIES, 


BIOGRAPHICAL    INDEX 


COLCHESTER. 


CHARLES    E.    BENHAM. 


LONDON: 

Simpkin,  Marshall,  Hamilton,  Kent  &  Co.,  Limited. 

COLCHESTER: 
T.    Forster,    High    Street. 


PRINTED    BY 

BENHAM    AND     CO., 

at    the 

COLCHESTER    PRINTING     WORKS. 


<^  1289987 


x 


\ 


The  following  pages  do  not  profess  to  contain  by  any 
means  a  complete  list  of  the  distinguished  names 
connected  with  the  town  of  Colchester.  No  one, 
however,  having  as  far  as  I  know  endeavoured  to 
compile  any  sort  of  Index  of  Colchester  Worthies,  I 
have  felt  justified  in  gathering  together,  as  well  as  I 
could,  some  particulars  of  a  few  more  or  less  noted 
Colchester  characters,  and  shall  be  grateful  for  any 
suggestions,  corrections  or  additions  from  my  readers, 
in  view  of  a  possible  further  edition  at  some  future 
time. 

C.E.B. 
45,    Wellesley  Road, 
Colchester. 


COLCHESTER    WORTHIES. 


AIRY,  SIR  GEORGE  BIDDELL.  Born  at 
Alnwick,  July  27,  1801.  His  younger  days  were  spent 
at  Colchester,  where  be  was  educated  at  the  Royal 
Grammar  School  and  also  at  a  school  in  Sir  Isaac's 
Walk.  He  lived  in  George  Street,  in  a  house 
now  divided  into  two,  Nos.  10  and  11,  and  on  one 
of  the  upstair  windows  of  the  front  of  the  bouse  his 
autograph  was  until  recent  ysars  visible,  he  having 
scratched  it  on  the  glass  with  a  diamond.  He  went  to 
Trinity  College,  Cambridge,  and  took  his  M.A.  degree 
in  1826.  He.developed  special  taste  for  Astronomy  and 
prosecuted  that  study  with  much  vigour  and  success, 
being  appointed  Astronomer  Royal  in  1835,  a  post 
which  he  resigned  in  1881,  receiving  a  pension  of 
£1,100  a  year.  He  was  knighted  in  1872.  Died 
Jan.  2,  1892. 

ALFORD,  EDWARD.  Member  for  Colchester  in 
T627.  He  took  part  in  the  debate  on  the  "  Petition  of 
Rights" — boldly  exclaiming — "  Let  us  give  that  to  the 
King  which  the  law  gives  him,  and  no  more." 

A.LLEN,  ROSE,  Martyr,  burned  at  Colchester  on 
the  afternoon  of  Aug.  2,  1557. 


APLETON,  SIR  HENRY.  A  royalist  officer  in 
the  siege,  taken  prisoner  by  Fairfax. 

ARRAGON,  CATHERINE  OF.  This  queen 
visited  Colchester  in  15 16,  on  her  way  to  Walsingham, 
where  she  was  going  on  a  pilgrimage  to  the  famous 
image  of  the  Virgin  there.  She  was  conducted  by  the 
bailiffs,  aldermen,  and  a  number  of  burgesses,  from 
Lexden  to  the  town.  She  stayed  the  night  at 
St.  John's  Abbey.  The  townspeople  made  her  a 
voluntary  present  of  ^40,  and  on  her  departure  the 
bailiffs,  aldermen,  and  others  again  attended  her  as  far 
as  Milend. 

AUDELEY,  SIR  HENRY.  Lord  of  the  Manor 
of  Berechurch.  His  estates  were  sequestrated  by 
by  Parliament. 

AUDELEY,  HENRY.  Inherited  the  family 
estates,  but  his  life  was  a  melancholy  one,  his  vices 
proving  his  ruin,  for  he  died  a  prisoner  in  the  Fleet  in 
1 714,  having  long  been  parted  from  his  wife,  a  daughter 
of  Viscount  Strangford.  A  friend  going  to  see  him 
found  that  he  was  dead  and  about  to  receive  a 
prisoner's  burial.  Pie  stopped  the  funeral  and  commu- 
nicated with  the  widow,  who  allowed  £So  for  a  funeral 
and  the  body  was  buried  at  Berechurch. 

AUDELEY,  SIR  THOMAS,  Lord  Chancellor  of 
England.  The  Monks  of  St.  John's  Abbey,  in  hopes 
of  appeasing  his  rapacity,  alienated  to  him  part  of  the 
domains  of  the  Abbey,  viz.  : — Berechurch  Hall  and 
the  Manor  of  Gosbecks,  in  Stanway.  He  was  born  of 
obscure  parents  at  Earls  Colne  in  1488,  was  brought 
up  to  the  law  and  made  Town  Clerk  of  Colchester 
in  1516,  and  a  Free  Burgess  in  1526.  He  was  Autumn 
Reader  of  the  Inner  Temple  and  became  Speaker  of 


the  House  of  Commons  in  the  Parliament  that  began 
Nov.  3,  1529.  He  made  himself  a  great  favorite  of 
Henry  VIII,  and  in  1530  was  constituted  King's 
Attorney  for  the  Duchy  of  Lancaster.  He  advanced 
to  higher  and  higher  dignities  and  succeeded 
Sir  Thomas  More  as  Lord  Keeper  of  the  Great  Seal. 
In  1532  he  was  knighted  and  the  next  year  made 
Lord  Chancellor.  He  was  very  zealous  in  the 
dissolution  of  the  Monasteries  and  obtained  from  the 
King  the  sites  of  St.  Botolph's  Priory,  Crouched  Friers 
and  other  valuable  possessions  in  Colchester.  In  1538 
he  was  made  Baron  Audeley  and  installed  Knight  of 
the  Garter.  He  died  in  1544,  aged  56,  and  was  buried, 
at  Walden. 

BALL,  J.  A  priest,  who  was  one  of  the  rebels  in 
Wat  Tyler's  insurrection  and  became  one  of  the  chief 
incendiaries.  He  made  Colchester  a  place  of  refuge 
because  he  had  followers  in  that  town.  It  is  said  that 
the  charge  brought  against  him,  though  nominally  for 
high  treason  was  really  for  heresy,  and  that  he  was 
the  first  known  Wycliffist  martyr.  Executed  at 
St.  Alban's,  July  15,  1381.  To  encourage  the  rebels 
Ball  used  the  lines : 

"When  Adam  dolve  and  Eve  span, 
Who  was  then  the  gentleman?" 

BARKSTEAD,  COL.  A  Parliamentarian  officer 
who  fought  bravely  at  the  siege  m  1648.  One  of  the 
Forts  was  called  "  Barkstead's  Fort,"  on  the  Maldon 
Road.  He  was  M.P.  for  Colchester  in  the  reign  of 
Charles  I. 

BARNARDISTON,  ARTHUR.  Recorder  of 
Colchester  in  the  time  of  Oliver  Cromwell.  He 
died    in    1655. 


BARNARDISTON,  J.  A  royalist  officer  in  the 
siege.  He  tried  to  make  terms  with  Fairfax,  but  it 
was  then  too  late,  and  the  Parliamentarians  would 
not  entertain  his  conditions.  It  is  curious  that  the 
Barnardiston  family  (who  have  been  seated  in  Suffolk 
from  the  time  of  the  conquest)  are  traditionally 
connected  with  the  origin  of  the  appellation 
Roundhead,  which  it  is  said  was,  from  the  beauty  of 
his  person,  first  bestowed  on  Samuel  Barnardiston,  a 
distinguished  partizan  of  the  parliament  in  the  reign  of 
Charles  II. 

BARNES,  JOHN  STUCK.  For  many  years  Clerk 
of  the  Peace  for  the  Borough.  Born  in  St.  Leonard's 
Parish,  1S06.  Though  a  zealous  nonconformist,  he 
placed  a  stained  glass  window  in  St.  Leonard's  Church, 
to  the  memory  of  his  father.     He  died  Feb.,  1887. 

BARRINGTON,  SIR  THOMAS.  M.P.  for 
Colchester  in   the    reign  of    Charles  I. 

BASTWICK,  DR.  JOHN.  He  lived  in  Red 
House,  Eld  Lane,  near  the  Baptist  Meeting  House. 
He  wrote  some  books  against  Popery,  which  proved 
disagreeable  to  the  Court  and  brought  him  into 
considerable  trouble.  He  was  fined  ^"iooo  and  costs. 
His  book  was  burned  and  he  was  excommunicated 
and  imprisoned  for  2  years.  Born  at  Writtle,  near 
Chelmsford,  1593. 

BATCHELOR,  HENRY.  Yeoman,  of  Colchester. 
He  bequeathed  £bo  a  year  to  three  preachers  in 
Colchester.     The  will  bears  date  1646-7. 

BECHE,  JOHN.  The  last  Abbot  of  St.  John's. 
He  would  not  subscribe  to  the  King's  supremacy 
and    was    hanged     for    high    treason    at    Colchester, 


Dec.  i,  1539.  He  was  invited  by  the  bailiffs  of 
the  town  to  a  feast,  and  in  the  midst  of  the  proceedings 
his  death  warrant  was  disclosed  to  him. 

BENNOLD,  THOMAS.  A  tallow  chandler, 
burned  on  the  morning  of  Aug.  2,  1557,  outside 
the  Town  Walls. 

BERNARD,  WALTER.  A  tenant  of  the 
Severalls,    and   Alderman    and    Sheriff   of   London. 

BESTNEY,  BARKER.  Lived  at  Monkwick. 
His  estates  were  sequestrated  by  Parliament. 

BIGOD,  ROGER.  Earl  of  Norfolk.  Earl  Marshal 
of  England.     Constable  of  the  Castle,  1258. 

BONGEOR,  WILLIAM.  A  glazier,  of  St. 
Nicholas  Parish,  burned,  outside  the  Town  Walls,  on 
the  morning  of  Aug.  2,  1557. 

BUCKLER,  GEORGE.  An  architect,  who  took 
great  interest  in  the  archaeology  of  Essex.  The  ablest 
exponent  of  the  theory  of  the  Roman  origin  of  the 
Castle.  Wrote  "  Colchester  Castle  a  Roman  Building," 
"  Twenty-Two  Churches  of  Essex,"  &c.  Died  in 
London,  Sept.  2,  1886,  aged  74.  Interred  in  Nunhead 
Cemetery.  His  father  was  a  clever  topographical 
artist. 

BULL,  JOHN  and  RICHARD  FARNHAM. 
Two  Colchester  Weavers,  who  about  1640  declared 
themselves  to  be  the  two  great  prophets  mentioned  by 
the  prophet  Zachariah,  and  the  Two  Witnesses  spoken 
of  in  Rev.  xi.  3.  They  claimed  that  they  had  power 
to  shut  up  heaven  so  that  it  should  not  rain,  and  to 
smite  the  earth  with  plagues,  and  said  that  they  should 
not  die  out  of  Jerusalem  and  that  after  three  days  and 


a  half  their  dead  bodies  would  rise,  and  Richard 
Farnham  would  be  King  on  David's  throne  and 
John  Bull  priest  in  Aaron's  seat,  and  that  they  would 
reign  for  ever.  They  both  died  in  the  plague,  and  the 
few  converts  whom  they  had  made  declared  that  the 
two  prophets  had  gone  in  vessels  of  bulrushes  to 
convert  the  ten  tribes,  and  would  return  and  rule 
England  with  a  rod  of  iron. 

BRADENHAM,  LIONEL  DE.  Endeavoured  to 
enclose  and  appropriate  the  Colne  Fishery  in  the  reign 
of  Richard  I.  His  attempt  was  resisted  by  Robert  de 
Herle,  Lord  Admiral,  in  revenge  for  which  he  attempted 
to  reduce  the  town  to  ashes.  These  exploits,  however, 
soon  brought  about  his  ruin,  and  he  was  compelled  to 
screen  his  forfeited  life  under  a  pardon. 

BREE,  CHARLES  ROBERT  (M.D.,  Edin.) 
For  22  years  Physician  to  the  Essex  and  Colchester 
Hospital.  Resided  at  Colchester  during  that  time, 
1859-81,  after  which  he  left  the  town  for  Long  Melford, 
where  he  died,  Oct.  17,  1886,  aged  75.  He  was  the 
son  of  Mr.  John  Bree,  of  Keswick,  and  he  married  the 
daughter  of  Sir  Augustus  Henniker,  Bart.  He  was 
the  author  of  several  valuable  works  on  Natural 
History,  and  published  treatises  against  the  Darwinian 
Theory,  to  which  he  was  strongly  opposed.  He  was 
part  editor  of  the  Naturalist,  and  for  many  years  a 
Fellow  of  the  Linnean  and  Zoological  Societies.  He 
was  J. P.  for  Essex  and  Suffolk. 

BROWN,  JOHN.  A  Colchester  stone  mason, 
who  carried  on  business  for  about  25  years  on  East 
Hill.  He  was  born  at  Braintree  in  1780.  From 
boyhood  he  evinced  great  interest  in  geology  and  when 


he  had  saved  enough  money  he  purchased  a  house  and 
farm  at  Stanway,  where  for  the  remainder  of  his  life 
he  devoted  himself  to  his  favorite  subject.  When  over 
70  years  of  age  he  tried  to  learn  French.  He  was  a 
frequent  contributor  to  scientific  journals.  He 
discovered  some  huge  fossil  bones  at  Lexden,  which  he 
presented  to  the  British  Museum.  At  his  death  he 
left  ^300  to  the  Geological  Society  of  London,  £100  to 
the  Geologists'  Association,  and  all  his  books, 
collections  and  cabinets,  together  with  £50,  to  Professor 
(now  Sir  Richard)  Owen  (one  of  his  executors)  on  the 
understanding  that  the  specimens  were  to  be  deposited 
in  museums,  at  the  discretion  of  the  Professor.  Died 
Nov.  28,  1859.     Buried  in  Stanway  Churchyard. 

BROWN,  ROBERT.  Member  of  Parliament  for 
Colchester  in  the  reign  of  Queen  Mary,  who  with  36 
other  members  voluntarily  left  the  house  on  the  passing 
of  an  act  repealing  acts  against  the  supremacy  of 
Rome. 

BUXTON,  ROBERT.  An  apothecary,  who 
founded  the  trade  of  candied  eryngo  roots,  a  kind  of 
sweetmeat  of  a  medicinal  character  prepared  from  the 
root  of  the  sea  holly  (Eryngium  maritinum.)  It  was 
considered  a  stimulant  and  restorative,  and  was  for 
some  time  a  renowned  Colchester  product.  He  died 
1655  and  was  buried  in  St.  Nicholas  Church. 

CAMPES,  ABBOT  ADAM  DE.  Lived  in  the 
reign  of  Edward  I.  He  cunningly  asked  to  see  the 
Charter  of  the  Lepers  Hospital  at  Colchester  and  then 
flung  it  in  the  fire,  taking  away  the  common  seal  of  the 
Hospital  and  enforcing  an  oath  of  obedience  to  him. 
Redress  was  however  subsequently  obtained  from 
Parliament. 


CAMPION,  COL.  SIR  WILLIAM.  A  royalist 
officer,  killed  in  the  siege  1648.  A  rumour  of  his  death 
reaching  his  wife,  she  bravely  approached  the  camp  of 
Fairfax  in  person  and  obtained  leave  to  send  a  letter 
into  the  town  to  ascertain  the  truth.  There  is  a 
monument  to  him  in  St.  Peter's  Church. 

CAPEL,  LORD  ARTHUR.  A  nobleman,  son  of 
Sir  Henry  Capel,  Knight.  He  represented  the  county 
of  Hertford  in  the  Parliament  of  1640.  In  the  civil 
war  he  became  such  a  zealous  royalist  that  the  House 
of  Commons  confiscated  his  estates.  He  was  one  of 
the  noblest  of  the  defenders  in  the  siege  of  1648,  and 
on  the  surrender  of  the  Town  he  was  imprisoned  in  the 
Tower,  from  whence  he  escaped,  but  was  re-captured 
and  beheaded  March  9,  1649.  His  literary  remains 
were  published  in  1654,  with  the  title  of  "  Daily 
Observations  or  Meditations."  They  are  full  of 
deep  pious  fervour,  and  he  was  also  the  author  of 
some  beautiful  verses  published  in  Lloyd's  Memoirs 
of  Remarkable  Sufferers. 

CARR,  SAMUEL.  A  grocer,  born  in  Boxford,  1732, 
settled  in  Colchester,  where  he  died  in  1809.  He  was 
the  first  to  introduce  Sunday  Schools  and  to  encourage 
the  culture  of  potatoes  in  this  part  of  the  county.  A 
portrait  of  his  wife,  by  Gainsborough,  was,  a  few  years 
ago,  I  believe,  exhibited  in  the  Gainsborough 
Exhibition  in  London. 

CARR,  SAMUEL  PUPPLETT.  Son  of  Samuel 
Carr,  born  1750,  died  1823.  He  was  one  of  the  first 
to  introduce  the  manufacture  of  gas  into  Colchester. 
He  erected  gas  works  in  the  rear  of  his  premises, 
No.   11,  High  Street,  Colchester,   to   supply  his  own 


13 

premises.  He  also  laid  down  the  first  tramway  for 
trucks  in  the  town.  He  owned  all  the  wharfage  from 
the  Hythe  Bridge  to  the  Bonding  Warehouse  on  the 
south  side  of  the  river. 

CATCHPOOL,  RICHARD  D.  A  native  of 
Colchester,  though  the  greater  part  of  his  life  was 
spent  at  Reading.  He  always  took  a  lively  interest 
in  his  native  town,  in  which  he  was  a  property  owner, 
and  offered  ^1,000  towards  a  New  Town  Hall,  in 
Jubilee  year,  1887,  but  the  inhabitants  rejected  the 
scheme.  He  left  generous  bequests  to  Colchester, 
conditionally  on  the  money  being  devoted  to  a  Public 
Library  and  Recreation  Ground.  Died  Nov.  7,  1890, 
aged  68. 

CHAMBERLAYNE,  NICHOLAS.  A  Martyr, 
burned  at  Colchester,  June  1557. 

CHIVELYNG,  WILLIAM.  A  tailor,  burned  in 
Colchester  for  heresy,  by  order  of  King  Henry  VI. 

CHURCHE,  ROGER.  A  prior  of  the  convent  of 
Crouched  Friers. 

CLAUDIUS.  The  Roman  Emperor.  Founded 
Colchester  (Camulodunum)  about  50  A.D.  to  serve 
as  a  monument  of  the  victory  there,  which  had  made 
him  master  of  the  southern  part  of  the  island. 

COCKE,  WILLIAM,  was  threatened  with  sus- 
pension for  not  yielding  to  wear  the  surplice  at  his 
church  of  St.  Giles.  Buried  in  St.  Giles's  Church, 
1619. 

COEL,  KING.  The  mythical  "Old  King  Cole," 
traditionally  associated  with  Colchester,  from  a  fancied 
derivation  of  the  word — Coel's  castra,  or  camp. 


COLCHESTER,  ELIAS  FITZ  JOHN  DE.  First 
M.P.  for  Colchester  in  the  reigns  of  Edward  I  and  II. 

COLCHESTER,  HUBERT  DE.  M.P.  for 
Colchester  in  the  reign  of  Edward  I. 

COLCHESTER,  JOHN  OF.  Rector  of  Tendring 
and  Prior  of  the  Convent  of  Crouched  Friers.  He 
founded  a  chantry  in  St.  Helen's  Chapel  in  1321,  and 
one  in  St.  Mary's  Church,  the  funds  of  which  were 
afterwards  devoted  to  the  founding  of  a  Free  School. 

COLCHESTER,  LORD  (Charles  Abbot).  Born, 
1757.  Son  of  Rev.  John  Abbot,  D.D.,  Rector  of 
All  Saints,  Colchester.  His  mother  (nee  Sarah  Farr,) 
was  married  secondly  to  Jeremy  Bentham.  Charles 
Abbot  was,  in  1801,  appointed  Chief  Secretary  to  the 
Lord  Lieutenant  of  Ireland,  and  keeper  of  the  Privy 
Seal  in  Ireland.  In  1882  he  became  Speaker  of  the 
House  of  Commons,  and  filled  the  Chair  till  181 7,  when 
he  was  elevated  to  the  peerage,  with  the  title,  Baron 
Colchester.     Died  May  7,  1829. 

COOK,  COL.  A  Volunteer  in  the  Royalist  Forces 
at  the  siege  in  1648. 

COOK,  REV.  MOSES,  of  Sible  Hedingham.  He 
left  ^"8oo  for  the  augmentation  of  the  living  of  St.  James. 

COMPTON,  HENRY,  Bishop  of  London.  Young- 
est son  of  the  Earl  of  Northampton.  Born  1632.  He 
was  very  zealous  against  popsry.  He  performed 
the  ceremony  of  crowning  William  and  Mary  in 
Westminster  Abbey.  It  was  a  saying  of  his  that  "  the 
Church  is  for  the  living,  the  Churchyard  for  the  dead," 
the   meaning   of  which   is   more    obvious   in  his   own 


15 

funeral,  which,  by  his  own  wish,  was  humbly  carried 
out  in  Fulham  Churchyard,  171 3.  He  was  the  author 
of  several  learned  theological  works,  and  made  a 
generous  bequest  of  valuable  books  to  the  Colchester 
Corporation,  but  with  intolerable  meanness  they  would 
not  be  at  the  expense  of  the  carriage,  and  his  heir  was 
consequently  obliged  to  sell  them,  and  they  were  thus 
lost  to  the  town. 

COMPTON,  SIR  WILLIAM.  A  Royalist  officer 
in  the  siege  of  1648. 

COWPER,  EARL  WILLIAM.  Lord  Chancellor 
of  England,  born  in  Hertfordshire.  He  rose  rapidly  at 
the  bar,  and  was  made  Recorder  of  Colchester.  In 
1705  he  was  made  Keeper  of  the  Great  Seal.  He  was 
made  a  peer  in  1706,  an  earl  in  171 8,  and  died  Oct.  10, 
1723.     Buried  at  Hertingfordbury. 

COX,  CAPT.  An  old,  experienced  cavalry  officer 
on  the  Parliamentarian  side,  killed  at  the  siege  on  the 
13th  of  June,  1648. 

COX,  JOSEPH.  Died  24  June,  1689,  leaving  £5 
per  annum  to  the  poor  of  St.  Mary's,  to  be  distributed 
every  Christmas  day. 

CREFFEILD,  LADY.  Wife  of  Sir  Ralph 
CrefFeild.  She  made  a  bequest  to  the  poor  of 
Trinity  Parish. 

CREFFEILD,  SIR  RALPH.  Alderman  and 
three  times  Mayor  of  Colchester.  He  was  knighted  by 
Queen  Anne  on  presenting  her  with  an  address  of 
thanks  from  the  Corporation  on  the  conclusion  of  the 
peace  of   Utrecht.     He  married  Rachel,   daughter  of 


i6 

George    Tayspill.       Died    June    22,    1732,    aged    79. 
Buried  in  St.  Nicholas  Church. 

CREFFEILD,  RALPH,  Jun.,  J. P.,  died  1723. 
aged  36.  Second  son  of  Sir  Ralph  Creffeild.  His 
daughter  Hannah  married  G.  Wegg.  (q.v.)  Buried  in 
St.  James's  Church. 

CROMWELL,  THOMAS,  Earl  of  Essex,  son  of  a 
blacksmith,  born  at  Putney,  1490.  He  entered  into  the 
service  of  Cardinal  Wolsey,  who  obtained  him  a  seat 
in  the  House  of  Commons.  When  the  Cardinal  fell 
he  became  a  servant  of  the  King,  who  conferred  upon 
him  knighthood  and  other  honours.  In  1536  he 
received  the  title  of  Lord  Cromwell.  On  the  dissolution 
of  the  monasteries  he  received  the  grant  of  many 
manors,  and  among  them  those  of  Milend  and 
Greenstead.  In  1539  he  was  created  Earl  of  Essex, 
soon  after  which  his  fortune  rapidly  declined.  His 
ruin  was  hastened  by  the  marriage  which  he  projected 
between  Henry  and  Anne  of  Cleves,  and  he  was  sent 
to  the  Tower  and  finally  beheaded,  July  28,  1540. 

CUNOBELIN.  The  Cymbeline  of  Shakespeare, 
whose  Royal  town  was  Colchester,  previous  to  the 
appearance  of  Claudius. 

DAMARIN,  WILLIAM.  Principal  coachman  to 
the  Emperor  of  Russia  for  upwards  of  5  years  and  for 
many  years  coachman  of  the  Royal  Mail  from  London 
to  Colchester.  Died  1844.  Buried  in  St.  Mary's 
Churchyard. 

DANIELL,  JEREMIAH.  A  resident  in  the 
Town,  who  died  1696,  aged  61,  and  bequeathed  an 
annual  gift  of  coals  to  the  poor  of  several  parishes. 
Buried  in  St.  Peter's  Church. 


17 

DARCY,  MARY,  LADY.  Lived  in  Trinity  parish 
opposite  the  West  end  of  the  Church.  She  died  in 
1644,  and  bequeathed  to  the  town  some  Almshouses  in 
Eld  Lane.  She  was  daughter  of  Sir  Thos.  Kitson,  of 
Hengrave,  and  wife  of  Viscount  Colchester,  Earl  Rivers. 

DARCY,  SIR  THOMAS,  Kt.  Was  granted  a  21 
years'  lease  of  the  site  of  St.  John's  Abbey,  Aug.  29, 
1544,  on  the  dissolution  of  the  monasteries. 

DARCY,  THOMAS,  BARON.  Created  Viscount 
Colchester,  July  5,  1621,  with  a  grant  of  £8  out  of  the 
fee  farm  of  the  town.  He  was  advanced  to  the  title  of 
Earl  Rivers,  Nov.,  1626.     Died,  Feb.  21,  1639. 

DAVIDS,  REV.  THOMAS  WILLIAM.  Congre- 
gational Minister  at  Lion  Walk  Chapel  for  34  years. 
Born  at  Swansea,  Sept.  11,  1816.  He  was  an 
eminent  historian  of  Essex  Nonconformity,  and  his 
works  evince  considerable  research  and  careful  study. 
Died  in  London,  April  11,  1884.  Buried  in  Colchester 
Cemetery. 

DE  CLERK,  W.  Returned  to  Parliament  as 
Burgess,  34  Edw.  I.  and  4  Edw.  II. 

DE  FOE,  DANIEL.  The  celebrated  author  of 
Robinson  Crusoe  and  the  "  Shortest  Way  with 
Dissenters."  Born,  1663,  in  Cripplegate.  He  held  the 
Severall's  or  King's  Wood  Heath  on  a  99  years'  lease", 
from  August,  1722.  His  tenancy  also  included 
Brinckley  Farm  and  Tubbeswick,  the  rent  being  ^120 
and  a  fine  of  £"500.  Among  his  other  works,  which 
were  of  a  very  varied  character,  he  wrote  an  interesting 
account  of  a  tour  through  the  Eastern  Counties,  which 
contains  a  full  account  of  the  Siege  of  Colchester  and 


many  other  particulars  about  the  town,  evincing  the 
observant  faculties  which  characterised  the  man. 

DICKMAN,  ROBERT.  A  Vicar  of  St.  Peter's, 
who  records  in  the  parish  register  an  extraordinary 
earthquake  on  the  8th  of  September,  1692. 

DISTER,  AGNES,  made  a  bequest  to  the  poor  of 
the  parish  of  St.  Peter,  in  which  church  she  was  buried, 
^  1553- 

DUGARD,  WILLIAM,  of  Sidney  College, 
Cambridge.  A  most  industrious  and  successful  Master 
of  the  Grammar  School,  an  appointment  which  he 
received  in  1637.  He  did  much  for  the  good  of  the 
school,  but  received  such  abuse  and  ill  usage  in  return, 
that  he  had  to  resign  in  1642-3. 

DYER,  SIR  LODOWICK.  A  royalist  officer, 
taken  prisoner  in  ths  Siege,  1648. 

EDWARDS,  JOHN.  A  Colchester  clergyman, 
chosen  Lecturer  to  the  Corporation  in  1700,  at  a  salary 
of  ^"50  per  annum. 

ELIAN  OR  (or  Alianor),  JOHN.  M.P.  for 
Colchester  in  the  reign  of  Edward  III. 

ELIANORE,  JOSEPH.  M.P.  for  Colchester. 
Founded  a  chantry  in  St.  Mary's  Church,  in  Feb., 
1348.  He  was  several  times  bailiff  of  the  town.  At 
the  reformation  the  advowson  was  utilised  for  founding 
a  Free  School. 

ELIZABETH,  QUEEN,  visited  Colchester,  Sept. 
1  and  2,  1579. 

ERNULPH)       A  Monk,  founder  of  St.  Botolph's 
EYNULPHi    Priory,    and     its    first     Prior.       He 

introduced  into  England  the  Order  of  Regular  Canons 

of  St.  Augustine. 


19 

EUDO,  DAPIFER  (Steward  Eudo).  Son  of 
Hubert  de  Rie,  who  was  a  servant  and  favorite  of 
William  the  Conqueror,  to  whom  he  was  of  great 
service  in  assuming  the  English  throne.  The  reward 
of  his  services  came  to  his  son  Eudo,  who,  besides 
receiving  large  possessions  was  made  Steward  of  the 
Household.  Inheriting  in  full  measure  the  tact  and 
skill  of  his  father  he  succeeded  in  securing  the  throne 
to  William  II.  The  Town  of  Colchester,  realising 
that  he  would  therefore  be  a  favoured  subject  of 
that  monarch,  petitioned  for  him  as  their  Governor, 
so  that  they  might  be  under  his  protection  and  free 
from  the  hardships  which  they  had  had  to  endure  in 
the  past.  This  was  granted  the  Town,  and  he  resided 
there  in  High  Street.  Opposite  his  residence  he  built 
the  Moot  Hall,  pulled  down  in  1843.  He  was  Lord 
of  the  Manors  of  Greenstead  and  Berechurch.  The 
great  work  of  his  life  was  the  founding  of  the 
monastery  of  St.  John's  Abbey.  He  chose  the  site 
of  this  building  in  a  remarkable  manner.  A  little 
wooden  church  stood  there,  at  which  strange  miracles 
were  said  to  be  performed.  There,  too,  on  dark 
nights,  heavenly  lights  were  often  seen  and  voices 
when  no-one  was  within,  and  on  one  occasion,  on 
the  feast  of  St.  John,  a  man,  who  was  kept  there 
in  fetters,  by  command  of  the  king,  was  miraculously 
freed  from  his  chains,  which  flew  off  of  their  own 
accord.  Pondering  over  his  project,  therefore,  he 
determined  that  this  must  be  the  site  of  the  Abbey 
and  St.  John  its  patron  saint,  and  the  work  of 
building  was  accordingly  begun  in  1096,  and  the 
next  year,  after  Easter,  Eudo  himself  reverently 
laid  the  first   stone.      Amongst  other  manors  in    his 


possession  he  devoted  the  revenues  of  Berechurch 
to  the  Abbey.  With  the  first  Monks  there  he  had 
considerable  trouble,  on  account  of  their  discontent 
and  ill  behaviour,  and  finally  he  committed  the  whole 
monastery  into  the  hands  of  Stephen,  Abbot  of  York. 
With  the  King's  consent,  and  in  his  presence,  he 
bequeathed  to  the  monastery  the  Manor  of  Bright- 
lingsea,  ^ioo  in  money,  his  gold  ring  with  a  topaz, 
a  cup,  with  cover  adorned  with  plates  of  gold, 
together  with  his  horse  and  mule.  He  also  founded 
the  Leper's  Hospital,  in  the  Parish  of  St.  Mary 
Magdalen.  He  died  at  the  Castle  of  Preaux,  in 
Normandy,  and  at  his  own  desire  was  buried  in  his 
beloved  monastery,  at  Colchester,  Feb.  28,  11 20.  His 
wife  was  Rohaise,  daughter  of  Richard,  son  of  Gilbert, 
Earl  of  Eu.  They  had  one  daughter,  Margaret,  who 
married  William  de  Mandeville. 

EVELYN,  JOHN,  the  well  known  writer,  visited 
Colchester  in  1656,  and  described  the  town  as 
"  wretchedly  demolished  by  the  late  siege,  especially 
the  suburbs,  which  were  all  burnt,  but  were  then 
repairing."  He  testifies  to  the  spot  alleged  then  to 
be  the  death  place  of  Lucas  and  Lisle,  which  he  says 
was  "bare  of  green  for  a  large  space,  all  the  rest  of 
it  abounding  with  herbage."  Of  the  baize  and  says 
trade  he  says,  Colchester  "is  the  only  place  in  England 
where  these  stuffs  are  made  unsophisticated."  (That 
is,  genuine). 

EWER,  COLONEL.  An  officer  under  Fairfax 
in  the  siege,  1648.  He  was  sent  at  the  conclusion  of 
the  siege  to  the  King's  Head  Inn,  to  fetch  Lucas,  Lisle, 
and  Gascoigne,  and  to  prepare  them  for  their  fate.     He 


told  Sir  Charles  Lucas,  with  a  slighting  gesture,  that 
the  General  desired  to  speak  with  him  at  the  Council 
of  War,  and  also  with  Sir  George  Lisle,  Sir  Bernard 
Gascoigne,  and  Col.  Farre.  The  latter,  however,  had 
made  his  escape.  The  others  went  with  him  and  were 
told  that  they  were  condemned  to  be  shot  to  death. 

EWRING,  HELEN.  A  martyr,  burned  outside 
the  town  Walls,  on  the  morning  of  Aug.  2,  1557. 

FACILIS,  MARCUS  FAVONIUS.  A  Roman 
centurion,  whose  finely  sculptured  effigy  and  monu- 
mental inscription,  found  at  Colchester,  is  by  far  the 
most  valuable  of  all  the  Roman  cemetery  memorials 
found  in  the  neighbourhood.  The  relic  is  in  the 
possession  of  Mr.  George  Joslin  of  Colchester. 

FAIRFAX,  THOMAS,  LORD.  General  of  the 
Parliamentarian  forces  at  the  siege  in  164 8.  He  was 
the  eldest  son  of  Ferdinando,  Lord  Fairfax,  and  was 
born  at  Denton,  Yorks.,  161 1.  He  married  the 
daughter  of  Lord  Vere.  He  was  a  literary  man,  and 
fond  of  antiquarian  researches,  which  latter  predilection, 
no  doubt  contributed  to  his  evident  desire  at  the  siege 
to  avoid  unnecessary  destructive  combat,  for  he  made 
many  offers  for  peace,  on  conditions,  which,  considering 
the  strength  of  his  position,  were  by  no  means 
ungenerous.  His  terms  were  not,  however,  accepted, 
and  at  last,  when  the  town  was  forced  to  a  surrender, 
and  was  evidently  completely  in  his  power,  he,  in  turn, 
declined  the  proffered  terms  of  the  besieged.  He 
succeeded  to  the  family  estate  and  honours  a  year 
previous  to  the  siege.  In  the  Civil  War  generally  he 
played  an  important  part,  and  contributed  to  the 
victory  of  Naseby,  after  which  he  subdued  the  whole 


of  the  West  of  England.  He  died  at  his  seat  in  1671. 
He  was  the  author  of  several  poems,  and  a  volume  of 
memoirs  published  in  1699. 

FARNHAM,  RICHARD.     (See  John  Bull.) 

FARR,  COLONEL.  A  royalist  officer  in  the  siege 
1648.  He  escaped  from  the  Town  just  previous  to  its 
surrender. 

FISON,  JAMES.  A  musician  and  composer,  who 
died  at  East  Bay,  about  1849,  in  the  99th  year  of  his 
age.  He  received  a  pension  for  his  musical  acquire- 
ments and  services. 

FITZWALTER,  ROBERT,  BARON.  Lord  of 
the  manor  of  Lexden.  He  founded  the  monastery  of 
Grey  Friars,  and  in  1325  entered  there  as  a  religious 
votary.     He  died  there  the  following  year. 

FOLKS,  ELIZABETH.  A  martyr  burned  outside 
the  Town  Walls  on  the  morning  of  Aug.  2,  1557. 

FRANCKHAM,  ROBERT.  Bequeathed  a  gift  to 
the  poor  of  the  parish  of  St.  Nicholas. 

FRAUNCEY,  THOMAS.  Founded  a  chantry  in 
St.  Nicholas  Church,  by  will  dated  1416.  Among  the 
stipulations  was  one  that  a  lamp  was  to  be  kept 
continually  burning  in  the  Church  by  day  and  night 
before  the  cross,  and  a  wax  light  before  the  image  of 
St.  Nicholas  at  mass  time. 

FYNCHE,  JOHN.  M.P.  for  Colchester  in  the 
reign  of  Edward  III. 

FYNCHE,  RALPH.  A  brewer,  who  lived  at  the 
bottom  of  Balkerne  Hill.  He  endowed  four  almshouses 
in  St.  Nicholas  parish. 


23 

GASCOIGNE    (or    Guasconi)    SIR    BERNARD. 

A  native  of  Florence.  A  royalist  officer  in  the  siege. 
He  tried  to  make  a  sally  from  the  Town  with  Lucas 
and  Lisle,  and  all  the  volunteers  and  horse  of  the 
garrison,  on  July  15,  1648.  They  crossed  the  river  at 
Middle  Mill  and  tried  to  get  to  Nayland,  but  their 
guides  misled  them,  and  roused  the  enemy.  The 
guides  and  the  pioneers  then  fled,  and  they  were  all 
obliged  to  retreat.  Sir  Bernard  was  condemned  to 
death  with  Lucas  and  Lisle,  but  at  the  last  was 
reprieved  as  not  being  an  Englishman. 

GEORGE,  CHRISTIANA.  The  last  martyr 
burned  at  Colchester,  May  26,  1558. 

GILBERD,  J        HIEROME  (or  Jerome.)     Father 

GYLBERD,L  of  the  celebrated  Dr.   Gilberd    (see 

GILBERT,)    below.)     He  lived  at  Clare,  in  Suffolk. 

Was  Recorder  of  Colchester,  of  which  town  he  was 

made  a  free  burgess  in  1553.     Died  May  23,  1583. 

GILBERD,  THOMAS.  Grandfather  of  Dr. 
Gilberd,  born  at  Hintlesham,  and  made  a  free  burgess 
of  Colchester  in  1428. 

GILBERD,  DR.  WILLIAM.  Son  of  Hierome 
Gilberd.  He  was  born  in  1540,  and  studied  at  Oxford 
and  Cambridge.  He  afterwards  travelled  into  foreign 
countries,  where  he  took  his  degree,  and  returned 
famous  for  his  learning.  He  was  made  an  M.R.C.P,, 
London,  and  Chief  Physician  to  Queen  Elizabeth,  who 
valued  him  very  highly,  and  allowed  him  an  annual 
sum  to  encourage  him  in  his  studies.  He  was  also 
Chief  Physician  to  James  I.  In  1600  he  published 
his  famous  book,  "  De  Magnete,"  the  first  work  ever 
written  on  Electricity.      It  evinces  immense  sagacity 


H 

and  genius,  and  in  it  the  word  "electric"  was  first 
given  to  the  world.  In  this  work,  too,  appears  the 
important  discovery  of  the  variation  of  the  magnet- 
He  also  wrote  a  book,  "  De  Mundo  nostro  sublunari 
Philosophia  nova,"  which  was  published  at  Amsterdam 
after  his  death.  He  invented  two  -instruments  for 
finding  the  altitude  without  the  help  of  sun,  moon,  or 
stars.  He  died  Nov.  30,  1603,  and  was  buried  in  the 
chancel  of  Trinity  Church,  where  there  is  a  monument 
to  his  memory.  He  had  four  brothers— Ambrose, 
William,  a  Proctor  in  Arches  ;    Hierome,  and  George. 

GILBERT,  GEORGE.  Made  a  bequest  to  the 
poor  of  All  Saints  parish. 

GILBERT,  MRS.  (nee  Ann  Taylor).  Daughter  of 
Rev.  Isaac  Taylor  (q.v.)  Lived  in  Stockwell  Street 
1796-1811.  Married  Rev.  J.  Gilbert,  1814.  Her  first 
literary  venture  was  before  her  marriage,  when,  in 
conjunction  with  her  sister  Jane,  she  wrote  the  well- 
known  "  Hymns  for  Infant  Minds,"  full  of  a  terse 
simplicity  which  soon  rendered  them  successful. 
Encouraged  by  this  success,  she  followed  it  up  with 
many  more  poems,  some  of  which  (such  as  "  My 
Mother"  and  "Twinkle,  twinkle  little  Star,")  have 
become  "  familiar  in  our  minds  as  household  words." 
Her  "Rhymes  for  the  Nursery"  were  spoken  of  in 
high  terms  by  Sir  Walter  Scott.  She  was  also  the 
author  of  prose  writings  less  well  known.  Died  at 
Nottingham,  1866. 

GILSON,  DANIEL.  First  Minister  at  the 
Presbyterian  Chapel,  St.  Helen's  Lane.     Died  172 J. 

GLISSON,  DR.  FRANCIS.  A  learned  physician, 
born  at  Rampisham,  1 596,  who  for  some  time  lived  in 


^5 

St.  Mary's  Parish.  He  removed  to  London,  and  died 
there,  1677.  He  wrote  five  medical  treatises,  and  was 
President  of  the  College  of  Physicians.  He  was  the 
discoverer  of  Glisson's  capsule,  a  membrane  investing 
the  portal  vein,  hepatic  artery,  and  hepatic  duct. 
During  the  siege  Dr.  Glisson  was  sent  by  the  council 
of  war  at  the  siege  to  propose  arbitration  to  Fairfax, 
but  the  appeal  was  trade  too  late. 

GORING,  LORD,  Earl  of  Norwich.  A  prominent 
royalist  in  the  siege.  On  June  4,  1648,  news  came  into 
the  Town,  that  he,  with  Lord  Capel  and  2000  of  the 
loyal  party,  who  had  been  in  arms  in  Kent,  were 
coming  by  Greenwich  and  Stratford  to  Colchester. 
Sir  Charles  Lucas,  Sir  George  Lisle,  Col.  Cook,  and 
others  at  once  resolved  to  join  them  as  a  band  of 
volunteers  to  fight  for  the  King.  He  reached 
Colchester  on  the  10th  of  June.  The  people  there 
sympathised  chiefly  with  the  Parliamentarians,  and 
were  with  difficulty  prevailed  upon  to  admit  the 
royalists,  but  at  last,  on  certain  conditions  they 
submitted,  and  the  troops  entered  and  made  the  place 
their  headquarters,  causing  drums  to  beat  for 
volunteers.  Lord  Goring  encamped  at  first  in  the 
suburbs,  and  on  the  12th  he  came  into  the  town  and 
brought  in  Sir  William  Masham  and  other  prisoners. 
He  acted  with  intrepidity  and  with  some  lack  of 
prudence,  refusing  the  offer  of  the  engineers  to  entrench 
his  camp,  though  afterwards,  when  a  battle  was  at 
hand  and  there  was  no  time  to  do  it,  he  would  probably 
have  been  glad  of  the  protection.  His  sanguine 
boldness  was  further  evinced  in  his  refusal  tc  exchange 
prisoners  with  the  enemy  on  account  of  his  expectation 
that  re-inforcements  would  come  to  his  aid.   On  the  20th 

D 


26 

June,  Fairfax  again  offered  terms,  which  Lord  Goring 
contemptuously  and  laughingly  declined.  More  than 
once  Fairfax  sent  a  protest  that  poisoned  bullets  had 
been  used  by  Lord  Goring's  direction,  an  accusation 
which  Lord  Goring  indignantly  repudiated.  Further 
offers  of  treaty  from  Fairfax  he  also  declined,  and  on 
the  1 2th  of  Aug.  the  people  crowded  round  his  quarters, 
clamouring  for  surrender,  and  they  repeated  their 
demonstrations  of  dissatisfaction  every  evening.  At 
last  surrender  became  inevitable,  and  Goring  was 
among  the  prisoners  of  the  enemy. 

GRAY,  CHARLES.  M.P.  for  Colchester  in  five 
parliaments,  in  the  reigns  of  George  II.  and  III.  He 
purchased  the  Castle  of  Isaac  Leming  Rebow,  and  was 
diligent  in  preserving  this  valued  antiquarian  relic. 
Died,  Dec.  12,  1782,  aged  86.  Buried  at  All  Saints. 
He  constructed  the  domed  tower  and  the  Library  at 
the  Castle,  and  founded  in  the  latter,  in  1750,  the 
Castle  Society  Book  Club  ;  among  whose  members  was 
Morant.  He  also  purchased  a  great  part  of  the  Castle 
Lands. 

GRAY,  MYLES.  A  Colchester  bell  founder  of  the 
17th  Century. 

GREAT,  SAMUEL.  An  apprentice  to  Robert 
Buxton  (q.v.,)  after  whose  death  he  carried  on  the 
eryngo  root  trade.  He  died  in  1706,  aged  80,  and  was 
buried  in  St.  Nicholas'  Church. 

GRIFFIN,  REV.  LEWIS,  M.A.  A  Colchester 
divine  and  Master  of  the  Grammar  School.  He 
occupied  a  benefice  (Greenstead)  during  the  plague. 
He  was  author  of  several  poems — one  entitled — "  The 


27 

Doctrine     of     an     Ass,"      containing     the     following 
couplet : — 

"  Devils'  pretences  always  was  divine, 
A  Knave  may  have  an  Angel — for  a  sign." 

Died  at  Colchester  about  1670. 

GRIMSTON,  SIR  HARBOTTLE.  Born  at 
Bradfield,  1594.  He  bought  the  site  of  Crouched 
Friars  in  1637,  and  made  it  his  place  of  residence. 
The  house  was  battered  down  and  burned  in  the  siege 
in  1648.  His  father  (Harbottle  Grimston)  was  made 
Baron  in  1612,  and  free  burgess  of  Colchester  in  1625. 
The  son  was  brought  up  to  the  law  and  made  M.P., 
1639,  when  he  spoke  vehemently  against  the  grievances 
of  the  town.  After  his  house  had  been  destroyed  in  the 
siege  he  travelled  abroad.  He  was  afterwards  made 
Speaker  in  the  "  Healing  Parliament,"  April  15, 
1660,  and  continued  to  represent  Colchester  till  his 
death  in  1683.  In  Nov.,  1660,  he  was  made  Master  of 
the  Rolls.  He  published  the  Reports  of  Sir  George 
Croke,  whose  daughter  he  married.  He  gave  £10  for 
the  relief  of  the  poor  in  the  plague  in  1655-6.  He  was 
elected  M.P.  for  the  County  as  well  as  the  Borough, 
and  for  part  of  his  parliamentary  career  he  chose  to 
stand  for  the  County,  Sir  Robt.  Quarles  taking  his 
place  as  Member  for  the  Borough. 

GULL,  SIR  WILLIAM  WITHEY.  This 
eminent  physician  was  born  at  Colchester  and  baptised 
at  St.  Leonard's.  He  was  the  son  of  a  mariner,  and 
soon  after  his  birth  his  parents  removed  to  Thorpe-le- 
Soken,  where  he  was  brought  up  at  the  village  school. 
He  chose  a  schoolmaster's  career,  and  assisted  for  a 
time  in  teaching  at  a  Mr.  Seaman's  school  in 
Colchester.      He  then    went  to  teach  at  a  school   at 


28 

Lewes,  and  rapidly  developed  great  scientific  tastes, 
which  gained  him  a  post  at  Guy's  Hospital,  in  connexion 
with  cataloguing  the  museum.  This  led  him  to  devote 
his  attention  to  medicine,  and  having  taken  his  degree, 
he  soon  rose  to  distinction.  He  attended  the  Prince  of 
Wales,  with  Sir  William  Jenner,  throughout  a 
dangerous  attack  of  typhoid  fever,  and  his  successful 
services  were  rewarded  with  a  baronetcy.  He 
married  in  1848  the  daughter  of  Col.  J.  Dacre  Lacy. 
Died  Jan.  29,  1890. 

HALE,  — .  A  descendant  oi  Sir  Matthew  Hale, 
and  an  inhabitant  of  Colchester,  who  in  1832, 
constructed  a  steamboat  which  was  exhibited  in 
September  of  that  year  on  Virginia  Water,  before  the 
King  and  Queen  and  various  members  of  the  Royal 
Family,  who  took  great  interest  in  the  invention. 

HAMO,  DAPIFER.  One  of  the  earliest  property 
owners  in  Colchester. 

HAMMOND,  COL.  EDWARD.  A  royalist 
officer  made  prisoner  in  the  siege  in  1648. 

HAMMOND,  J.  A  tanner,  burnt  at  Colchester, 
April  28,  1556. 

HARRIS,    W.      A   martyr,    burned   at    Colchester, 

May  26,  1558. 

HARRISON,  RALPH.  Alderman  of  Colchester 
at  the  time  of  the  siege  in  1648.  Buried  in  St. 
Botolph's. 

HARSNET,  DR.  SAMUEL.  Archbishop  of  York. 
Born  in  1561,  in  St.  Botolph  Street.  He  was  son  of 
William  Harsnet,  a  baker,  and  was  probably  educated 
in  the  Town.      In   1576  he   went  to    King's   College, 


29 

Cambridge.  Thence  he  went  to  Pembroke  Hall,  of 
which  he  was  elected  a  Fellow  in  1583,  and  the  next 
year  he  took  the  degree  of  M.A.  In  1586  he  was 
chosen  Master  of  the  Free  School  at  Colchester,  a  post 
he  held  little  more  than  a  year  and  a  half.  He  became 
Vicar  of  Chigwell,  which  he  resigned  in  1605.  In  1598 
he  was  made  a  Prebendary  of  St.  Paul's  Cathedral  and 
in  1602  Archdeacon  of  Essex.  In  1604  he  became 
Rector  of  Shenfield  and  subsequently  Rector  of 
St.  Margarets,  New  Fish  Street,  London.  In  1605 
he  succeeded  Bishop  Andrews  as  Master  of  Pembroke 
Hall  and  in  the  same  year,  and  in  1614,  he  served  the 
office  of  vice-chancellor.  In  1606  he  became  Vicar  of 
Hutton  and  afterwards  he  was  Rector  of  Stisted.  In 
1609  he  became  Bishop  of  Chichester  and  in  1619  was 
translated  to  Norwich.  He  was  accused  by  the 
Puritans  of  Arminianism,  and  in  1624  the  Commons 
found  fault  with  him  for  several  misdemeanours.  In 
1628  he  became  Archbishop  of  York,  and  died  at 
Morton-on-the-Marsh,  May,  163 1.  He  was  buried  at 
Chigwell,  where  he  had  founded  a  Free  School,  and 
amongst  other  bequests  he  left  £10  to  the  poor  of  St. 
Botolph,  and  all  his  library  to  the  town  for  the  use  of 
the  Clergy.  His  own  writings  include  a  Sermon 
condemning  Absolute  Predestination,  and  an  attack  on 
the  "  fraudulent  practices "  of  certain  individuals 
whom  he  accused  of  the  "  deceitful  trade  "  of  "  casting 
out  devils."  Morant  describes  his  works  as  being 
written  with  great  strength  of  reason  and  elegantly 
"  considering  the  times "  (which,  by  the  way,  were 
"  the  spacious  days  of  Queen  Elizabeth.")  The 
condition  on  which  he  bequeathed  his  Library  to  the 
Town,  was  that  a  decent  place  should  be  provided  for 


3© 

it.  It  was  placed  in  the  Dutch  Say  Hall  over  the  Red 
Row.  This  was  in  1631.  In  1654-5  all  the  books 
were  mortgaged  to  the  Chamberlain  for  ^"50.  In  1664 
it  was  resolved  that  the  Grammar  School  Master 
should  have  charge  of  the  books  and  be  responsible  for 
them.  They  were  afterwards  removed  to  the  Castle, 
where  they  have  been  ever  since,  and  have  recently 
been  repaired  and  catalogued  at  great  expense. 
Unfortunately  some  are  lost.  They  include  a  fine 
Antwerp  Bible,  and  Hesychius  with  Isaac  Casaubon's 
M.S.  notes,  and  many  other  valuable  works. 

HARVEY,  DANIEL  WHITTLE.  Member  of 
Parliament  for  Colchester,  returned  in  18 18,  1820, 
1830,  1831,  and  1832.  He  was  born  at  Kelvedon, 
and  commenced  his  career  at  Colchester  as  an  articled 
clerk  to  Mr.  Peter  Daniell,  solicitor,  at  Head  Gate. 
He  early  developed  considerable  talent  for  public 
speaking.  He  became  a  somewhat  ardent  radical, 
and  was  so  zealous  at  public  meetings  in  furtherance 
of  radical  opinions,  that  he  was  induced  to  contest  the 
Borough  in  181 2,  but  was  defeated  by  the  Conservative 
candidates.  His  determination  and  perseverance, 
however,  urged  him  not  to  abandon  his  attempts, 
which  were  afterwards  more  successful,  and  he  was 
several  times  returned  at  the  head  of  the  poll.  He  was 
subsequently  appointed  by  the  Corporation  of  London, 
Chief  Commissioner  of  the  City  Police.  He  held  this 
office  simultaneously  with  his  seat  in  Parliament,  until 
the  passing  of  the  New  Police  Act,  when  he  was  no 
longer  eligible  for  the  House  of  Commons,  and 
consequently  in  1834,  he  retired  from  the  representation 
of  Colchester,  and  retained  his  official  appointment  till 
his  death,  which  was  in  about  1864. 


3i 

HARVEY,  JOHN  BAWTREE.  Three  times 
Mayor  of  Colchester.  He  was  born  at  Ipswich,  1809, 
and  there  commenced  his  career.  Came  to  Colchester 
in  1837,  and  was  for  some  years  engaged  in  Liberal 
journalism  in  the  town.  He  took  a  special  interest  in 
gas  lighting,  and  was  Chairman  of  the  Colchester  Gas 
Co.     Died  at  Colchester,  Aug.  10,  1890. 

HASTINGS,  HENRY,  Lord  Loughborough.  A 
royalist  officer  made  prisoner  in  the  siege,  1648. 

HAWES,  REV.  THOMAS.  Rector  of  St. 
Leonard's  ;  gave  some  books  to  the  Town  in  1635. 

HAY,  JAMES,  Earl  of  Carlisle.  Was  given  the 
reversion  of  the  Castle  by  Charles  I.,  Aug.  5,  1629. 

HENEAGE,  SIR  THOMAS,  Kt.  Held  King's 
Wood  Heath,  or  the  Severalls,  Milend,  under  lease  in 
accordance  with  the  express  desire  of  Queen  Elizabeth. 

HELENA,  EMPRESS.  The  Mother  of  Constan- 
tine  the  Great.  Mythically  associated  with  the  History 
of  Colchester,  probably  because  of  her  supposed 
relationship  to  the  legendary  King  Coel  (q.v.) 

HERRICK,  JOSEPH.  Pastor  of  the  Presby- 
terian Chapel  in  St.  Helen's  Lane,  1812-4.  In  1814, 
Mr.  Herrick  and  the  congregation  removed  to  the 
present  Stock  well  Chapel,  while  seceders  from  the  old 
methodist  body  took  the  old  meeting  house  and 
elected  a  minister. 

HEWITT,  REV.  CHARLES.  A  Greenstcad 
clergyman  of  whom  E.  P.  Strutt  in  his  "  Colchester 
Celebrities  of  the  Olden  Times  "  tells  a  story,  that  on 
one  occasion  he  went  to  sleep  in  the  pulpit,  and  when 


32 

the  congregation  had  all  gone  out,  the  clerk  said, 
"  They  are  all  out,  sir."  "  Oh,  are  they  ?  "  said  the 
parson,  half  awaking,  "  fill  them  up  again,  my  brave 
boys !  " 

HICKERINGILL,  REV.  EDMUND.  For  46 
years  Rector  of  All  Saints.  Died  in  1708,  and  was 
buried  in  all  Saints  Church.  A  long  complimentary 
epitaph  in  Latin  was  inscribed  on  his  tomb,  a  portion 
of  which,  was,  it  is  said,  afterwards  effaced  by  order  of 
Bishop  Crompton.  He  was  a  staunch  opponent  of  the 
Civilians.  He  was  cited  before  Sir  Robert  Wiseman 
to  answer  certain  irregularities  in  the  performance  of 
his  clerical  duties.  He  entered  Westminster  Hall, 
June  8,  1681,  to  answer  this  charge,  with  his  hat  on, 
and  Avas  commanded  by  Sir  Robert  Wiseman  to  be 
uncovered.  Mr.  Hickeringill  replied  in  Greek  to  this 
and  all  Sir  Robert's  remarks.  He  afterwards  repeated 
in  English  all  he  had  said  in  Greek.  He  was  again 
commanded  by  Sir  Robert  to  be  uncovered,  and  as 
he  refused,  an  old  fellow,  a  kind  of  sumner,  was 
ordered  to  snatch  it  from  his  head  ;  but  Mr.  Hickeringill 
snatched  it  back  and  clapped  it  on  his  head  again,  and 
held  it  there  all  the  time  he  was  in  court,  throwing 
down  a  protest  against  the  proceedings,  which  was  read 
out. 

HOLBEYE,  MARGARET.  In  the  reign  of  Queen 
Elizabeth  she  was  indicted  for  exercising  "  the  art  of 
fascination  as  well  of  men  as  of  animals,  and  for 
having  caused  Elizabeth  Pickas,  by  her  diabolical 
practices,  to  waste  away."  She  was  imprisoned  for  a 
year,  and  put  in  the  pillory  once  a  quarter,  on  market 
days. 


33 

HONEYFOLD,  DR.  GABRIEL.  A  Master  of 
the  Lepers'  Hospital  and  Vicar  of  Ardleigh.  At  the 
beginning  of  the  Civil  Wars,  his  house  was  rifled  by 
the  mob,  and  every  atom  of  his  belongings  taken  from 
him  ;  the  register  being  also  destroyed. 

HONYWOOD,  SIR  THOMAS.  An  officer  under 
Fairfax  in  the  siege  in  1648. 

HUMPHREY,  PRINCE.  Duke  of  Gloucester  and 
Protector  of  England.  Constable  of  Colchester 
Castle,  1404.  He  is  supposed  to  have  been  murdered 
in  1447. 

HUN  WICK,  JOHN.  An  alderman  of  Colchester, 
who  left,  in  1593,  ^300  for  the  poor,  lame,  and 
impotent,  in  Colchester. 

HURNARD,  JAMES.  A  well-known  member  of 
the  Society  of  Friends,  who  resided  at  Hill  House, 
Lexden,  and  was  before  that  a  brewer  on  East  Hill. 
He  was  an  ardent  Liberal,  and  was  rewarded  for  his 
zeal  in  that  cause  by  being  made  an  Alderman  in  the 
Town  Council.  He  was  a  man  of  literary  tastes,  and 
from  time  to  time  indulged  in  poetical  efforts.  His 
principal  venture  in  this  way  was  a  volume  in  verse, 
entitled — "  The  Setting  Sun,"  dealing  somewhat 
incisively  with  local  affairs.  Died,  Feb.  26,  1881, 
aged  73.  He  married,  somewhat  late  in  life,  and  left 
one  son. 

HURST,  EDMUND.  A  resident  in  St.  James's 
parish;  burned  at  Stratford,  June,  1556. 

INGRAM,  THOMAS.  Made  a  bequest  to  the  poor 
of  St.  Peter's  parish. 


34 

IRETON,  COLONEL  HENRY,  son  of  German 
Ireton.  He  was  born  at  Attenton,  Notts.,  1610.  He 
married  a  daughter  of  Oliver  Cromwell.  He  fought 
under  Fairfax  at  the  siege  in  1648,  and  was  at  the 
Council  of  War  at  which  Lucas  and  Lisle  were 
condemned  to  die.  He  died  in  Ireland  of  a  fever, 
exclaiming  in  his  last  momsnts,  "  Blood,  blood  !  "  He 
died  Nov.  26,  165 1.  His  body  was  brought  to 
England,  and  buried  in  Westminster  Abbey;  but  at 
the  Restoration  it  was  taken  up,  suspended  on  a 
gallows,  and  then  thrown  into  a  pit  with  those  of 
Cromwell  and  Bradshaw.  He  is  described  as  a  dark, 
treacherous,  and  hypocritical  character. 

JARVIS,  DR.  JOHN.  Rector  of  Grecnstead  in 
1644.  Depositions  were  taken  against  him,  when  it 
was  affirmed  on  oath,  amongst  other  graver  charges, 
"  that  he  had  often  said  this  Parliament  are  a  company 
of  factious  fellows,  who  aim  at  nothing  but  their  own 
ends,  and  that  he  was  not  able  to  deliver  anything  in 
his  sermons,  more  than  what  he  read  out  of  his  book, 
pointing  with  his  fingers  for  the  most  part  to  every 
line."     The  living  was  sequestrated,  August,  1645. 

JENKINS.  REV.  HENRY,  of  Stanway.  A 
zealous  exponent  of  the  theory  of  the  Roman  origin  of 
the  Castle.  He  held  that  it  was  the  actual  Temple  of 
Claudius.  Died,  1874.  ^s  arguments  were  inconclu- 
sive, wild  and  inaccurate,  and  found  few  adherents  (see 
Buckler.) 

JENNENS,  JOHN.  A  claimant  of  the  enormous 
estates  of  William  Jennens,  of  Acton  Place.  The 
important  chancery  suit,  in  connection  with  these 
estates,  formed  the  original  of  "  Jarndyce  v.  Jarndyce" 


35    1289387 

in  Dickens's  Bleak  House.  John  Jennens  died  at 
Colchester,  1769,  and  was  buried  in  St.  Peter's 
Churchyard.  The  tombstone  bears  the  text,  Jer.  ix, 
6,  "  Through  deceit  they  refuse  to  know  me." 

JOBSON,  SIR  FRANCIS.  A  resident  at 
Monkwick,  from  whom  John  Lucas  bought  the  site  of 
St.  John's  Abbey.  He  bought  the  monastery  of  the 
Grey  Friars  after  the  dissolution  of  the  monasteries. 
Died  at  Monkwick,  1573,  and  was  buried  in  St.  Giles's 
Church. 

JOHNSON,  ABRAHAM.  M.P.  for  Colchester  in 
the  first  Parliament  of  Richard  Cromwell,  1659. 

JOYNE,  SIMON.  A  sawyer,  burned  at  Colchester, 
April  28,  1556. 

JOHNSON,  JOHN.  A  martyr,  burned  at 
Colchester  on  the  afternoon  of  Aug.  2,  1557. 

JUDDE,  LADY  MARY,  of  Latton.  A  native  of 
Colchester,  who  left  ^"100  for  the  benefit  of  the  poor  of 
the  town. 

KENDALL,  JOHN.  A  wealthy  member  of  the 
Society  of  Friends,  who  was  largely  instrumental  in 
founding,  in  1791,  Almshouses  for  the  widows  whose 
husbands  had  died  in  Winsley's  Almshouses. 

KNEVETT,  THOMAS.  Suspended  for  preaching 
at  Milend  without  a  license,  having  been  admitted  to 
the  rectory  on  the  presentation  of  Sir  Thomas  Lucas 
in  1584. 

LADELL,  EDWARD.  A  famous  Colchester 
Artist,  son  of  a  coachbuilder  on  East  Hill.  His  Still 
Life  has  a  world  wide  reputation,  and  in  his  lifetime 
his  studio  was  always  represented  at  the  Royal 
Academy.     Died  Nov.  9,  1886,  aged  65. 


36 

LANVALLEI,  WILLIAM  DE.  Lord  of  the 
Manor  of  Stanway,  and  founder  of  the  Convent  of 
Crouched  Friars  about  1244.  He  was  also  constable 
of  Colchester  Castle. 

LAWRENCE,  JOHN.  A  martyr,  burned  at 
Colchester,  March,  29,  1555. 

LAWRENCE,  NATHANIEL,  Jun.  Son  of 
Nathaniel  Lawrence,  who  was  several  times  Mayor. 
He  was  lame  for  seven  years,  and  suddenly  recovered 
the  use  of  his  legs.     Died  1 750-1,  aged  90. 

LAYTON,  SIR  WILLIAM.  A  royalist  officer 
taken  prisoner  in  the  siege  in  1648. 

LEOFLEDA.  A  wealthy  lady  whose  name  appears 
in  the  Domesday  Survey,  as  the  richest  of  the  276 
King's  burgesses.  She  owned  three  houses,  25  acres, 
and  a  mill,  probably  on  the  site  of  the  present  East 
Mills. 

LEWIS,  Son  of  Philip  II.  of  France,  made 
himself  for  a  shoit  time  master  of  the  Castle  and 
Town,  and  all  the  Eastern  parts  of  England,  12 18. 

LISLE,  COLONEL  SIR  GEORGE.  One  of  the 
chief  defenders  in  the  siege  in  1648.  He  was 
condemned  to  death  by  the  Parliamentarian  Council  of 
War,  and  was  shot  outside  the  Castle  immediately 
after  the  execution  of  Sir  Charles  Lucas.  He  knelt  by 
the  body  of  his  gallant  comrade  in  arms  and  kissed 
him,  then  rising,  uttered  his  well  known  protest — 
"Oh,  how  many  of  your  lives  who  are  now  present 
here,  have  I  saved  in  hot  blood,  and  must  now  myself 
be  most  barbarously  murdered  in  cold  !  "  Bestowing 
a  small  gift  on  his  executioners,  he  bade  them  approach 


37 

nearer,  so  that  they  might  do  their  work  more 
completely.  "  I'll  warrant  ye,  sir,  we'll  hit  you," 
exclaimed  one  of  them.  "  Friend,"  said  Sir  George, 
calmly,  "  I  have  been  nearer  when  you  have  missed 
me."    Buried  with  Sir  C.  Lucas  in  St.  Giles's  Church. 

LOVELESSE,  FRANCIS.  Master  of  the 
Ordnance  in  the  siege  in  1648.  He  was  made 
prisoner  by  Fairfax. 

LUCAS,  CHARLES,  BARON.  Son  and  heir  of 
Sir  Thomas  Lucas,  of  Lexden,  Knight.  He  was  Lord 
of  the  Manor  of  Lexden,  and  lived  there  at  the 
Tenterhouse.  He  married  a  daughter  of  the  Earl  of 
Scarsdale. 

LUCAS,  SIR  CHARLES.  Younger  brother  of 
Sir  John  Lucas.  He  was  brought  up  for  a  military 
career,  in  the  Low  Countries,  under  the  Prince  of 
Orange,  and  became  one  of  the  best  commanders  of 
Horse  that  King  Charles  I.  had.  He  fought  for  that 
monarch  in  several  places,  and  notably  in  the  Siege  of 
Colchester,  at  the  end  of  which  he  was  shot  by 
command  of  Fairfax,  outside  the  Castle,  Aug.  28,  1648 
(vide  Sir  G.  Lisle.)  He  was  a  stern  and  staunch  man 
throughout  his  life,  and  his  last  words  were — "  See,  I 
am  ready  for  you.  Now,  rebels,  shoot !  "  Pierced  by 
four  bullets,  he  fell  dead.     He  died  childless. 

LUCAS,  SIR  JOHN.  An  officer  of  King  Charles ; 
eldest  son  and  heir  of  Sir  Thomas  Lucas,  jun.  He 
lived  at  St.  John's.  On  Aug.  22,  1642,  as  he  was 
preparing  to  go  with  a  detachment  of  cavalry  to  the 
King  in  the  North,  he  was  barbarously  used  by  some 
of  the  inhabitants,  who  plundered  his  house,  desecrated 
the  ashes  of  his  ancestors  in  St.   Giles's  Church,  and 


38 

took  him  prisoner  to  London.  Being  released,  he 
fought  for  Charles  I.  at  Lestwithiel  and  Newbury,  and 
in  other  battles,  in  consideration  of  which  he  was  made 
a  Baron  in.  1644-5,  with  the  title  of  Lord  Lucas  of 
Shenfield.  Died,  1671,  and  was  buried  in  St.  Giles's 
Church. 

LUCAS,  JOHN.  Third  son  of  Sir  Thomas  Lucas; 
was  Town  Clerk  of  Colchester,  and  Master  of  the 
requests  to  Edward  VI.  He  bought  the  site  of  St. 
John's  Abbey  of  Sir  Francis  Jobson.  He  was  also 
Lord  of  the  Manor  of  Milend,  and  died,  1556. 

LUCAS,  LADY  ANNE.  Wife  of  Lord  John 
Lucas,  Baron  of  Shenfield.  Buried  in  St.  Giles's 
Church.     Died,  Aug.  22,  1660. 

LUCAS,  SIR  THOMAS.  Sheriff  of  Essex  in 
1568,  and  Recorder  of  Colchester  in  1575.  He 
generously  entertained  the  Earl  of  Leicester  on  his 
visit  to  the  town,  Dec.  6,  1585.  His  estates  at  Lexden 
were  sequestrated  by  the  House  of  Commons,  because 
he  would  not  accede  to  certain  Parliamentary  measures. 

LUCAS,  SIR  THOMAS,  Jun.  Son  of  the  above. 
Sheriff  of  Essex  in  1617.  He  purchased  for  his  son, 
Thomas,  the  manorial  estates  at  Lexden  and  placed 
him  there. 

MACE,  JOHN.  An  apothecary,  burned  at 
Colchester,  April  28,  1556. 

MARGARET,  QUEEN,  of  Anjou,  was  granted 
Colchester  Castle  by  Henry  VI.,  in  1447. 

MARSDEN,  CANON  JOHN  HOWARD.  Resided 
many  years  at  Grey  Friars,  East  Hill.  Born,  1803. 
He  was   a  distinguished   scholar,  and   attained   high 


39 

honours  at  Cambridge,  where  he  won  the  First  Bell's 
Scholarship  in  1823,  and  the  Seatonian  prize  for 
English  verse.  He  held  the  appointments  of  Select 
Preacher  to  the  University  of  Cambridge  in  1834,  x^37f 
and  1847,  was  Hulsean  Lecturer  in  1843  and  1844,  and 
Disney  Professor  of  Archaeology,  1851  to  1865.  In 
1840  he  was  presented  to  the  Rectory  of  Great  Oakley. 
He  was  the  author  of  several  works,  including  his  two 
volumes  of  Hulsean  Lectures,  the  Life  of  Sir  Simon 
D'Ewes,  archaeological  lectures,  and  a  collection  of 
poems,  entitled  Fasciculus.  He  was  a  celebrated 
authority  on  archaeological  and  numismatic  subjects. 
Died,  Jan.  24,  1891,  aged  88. 

MARSH,  REV.  WILLIAM,  D.D.  For  15  years 
Vicar  of  St.  Peter's.  He  was  born,  July  1775,  being 
the  third  son  of  Col.  Sir  Charles  Marsh,  K.C.B.  His 
mother,  "  Dame  Catherine  Marsh,"  who  died  at 
Colchester  in  1824,  married  at  the  early  age  of  16. 
She  was  the  daughter  of  Mrs.  Case,  a  friend  of  the 
poet  Pope,  and  a  lady  of  cultured  intellect.  Dr. 
Marsh  came  to  Colchester  from  Brighton  in  1816. 
He  married  Maria  Tilson  in  1806.  He  took  a  deep 
interest  in  Missionary  work  to  the  Jews.  He  was  a 
powerful  speaker  and  a  most  popular  man  in  the  town. 
When  he  left  Colchester  in  1829,  a  noble  presentation 
of  plate  and  the  sum  of  ^1000  was  presented  to  him 
by  the  inhabitants  of  Colchester.  Died  August,  1864, 
having  passed  64  years  in  the  ministry.  He  was 
buried  at  Beddi'ngton.  His  life  and  letters  were 
published  in  1867  by  his  daughter,  who  was  also  the 
author  of  the  "  Memorials  of  Capt.  Hedley  Vicars." 

MASHAM,  SIR  WILLIAM.  An  officer  under 
Fairfax,    taken    prisoner    by    the     Royalists    at    the 


4° 

commencement  of  the  siege.  He  sent  a  message  to 
Fairfax,  entreating  him  to  treat  for  peace.  The 
Parliamentarians  offered  a  prisoner  named  Ashburnham 
in  exchange,  but  the  proposal  was  rejected.  Sir  Wm. 
Masham  was  M.P.  for  the  town  in  the  reign  of 
Charles  I. 

MAULYVER,  SIR  RICHARD.  A  royalist  officer 
in  the  siege  of  1648.  He  was  taken  prisoner  by  the 
Parliamentarians,  escaped,  and  was  re-captured. 

MORA.NT,  REV.  PHILIP.  The  celebrated 
historian  of  Colchester.  Born  in  Jersey  in  1700,  and 
educated  at  Abingdon  School,  whence  he  removed  to 
Pembroke  College,  Oxford,  where  he  took  the  degree 
of  M.A.  in  1724.  He  held  several  livings  in  Essex, 
the  principal  one  of  which  was  that  of  St.  Mary's, 
Colchester.  He  was  an  indefatigable  antiquarian,  and 
his  famous  compilation — The  History  of  Essex, 
including  The  History  of  Colchester,  also  published  in 
a  separate  volume,  has  preserved  an  immense  wealth 
of  local  history.  He  was  also  one  of  the  compilers  of 
the  Biographica  Britannica,  and  was  appointed  by  the 
House  of  Lords  to  publish  a  copy  of  the  Rolls  of 
Parliament,  which  work,  at  his  death,  devolved  upon 
his  son-in-law,  Mr.  Astle.     He  died  in  London,  in  1770. 

MOTT,  ALDERMAN.  A  burgess  who  was 
disenfranchised  for  disdemeanours  in  1694.  One  of 
these  misdemeanours  consisted  in  his  having  made  a 
person  a  free  burgess  without  consent  of  the  Common 
Council. 

MOUNT,  J  ALICE   &   WILLIAM.     Two  martyrs 
MUNT,     J    burned   at  Colchester  on  the  afternoon 

of  Aug.  2,  1557,  after  being  imprisoned  awhile  in  the 

Castle. 


MUSCHAMP,  MAJOR.  A  royalist,  killed  in  the 
siege,  19th  June,  1648. 

NAGGS,  WILLIAM.  Made  a  bequest  to  the 
Charity  Schools  at  Colchester.  Died  July  30,  1758, 
aged  80.  Buried  in  St.  Peter's  Churchyard  (south 
side). 

NEEDHAM,  COL.  A  Parliamentarian  officer  who 
commanded  the  Tower  Guards  in  the  siege,  and  was 
killed  in  the  action  of  June  13,  1648. 

NETTLES,  STEPHEN.  A  Rector  of  Lexden  in 
the  17th  century,  whose  property  was  sequestrated  by 
Parliament. 

NEWCASTLE,  MARGARET  Duchess  of  (nee 
Margaret  Lucas).  Daughter  of  Sir  Charles  Lucas. 
She  was  born  at  St.  John's,  Colchester.  She  was 
afforded  a  complete  education,  and  early  in  life 
exhibited  taste  for  literature.  She  was  the  second  wife 
of  William  Cavendish,  Earl,  Marquis,  and  Duke  of 
Newcastle,  to  whom  she  was  married  in  1645.  Two 
years  before  this  she  visited  the  Court  of  Charles  I., 
then  at  Oxford,  was  appointed  one  of  the  maids  of 
honour  to  the  queen  and  accompanied  her  majesty  to 
France.  She  published  ten  folio  volumes  ot  letters, 
plays,  poems,  philosophical  discourses,  orations,  and 
the  life  of  her  husband  the  duke.  Her  life  was 
distinguished  by  pious  and  charitable  works.  Died  in 
London,  1673,  and  was  buried  in  Westminster  Abbey. 

NELSON,  LUKE.  An  eccentric  cobbler  and 
antiquarian  who  lived  in  St.  Mary's  parish.  His 
portrait  appears  in  Strutt's  Celebrities,  at  the  Colchester 
Museum.  Died  Feb.  22,  1805,  aged  69.  Buried 
in  St.  Mary's  Churchyard. 


42 

NEWCOMEN,  THOMAS.  Rector  of  Holy 
Trinity  in  the  middle  of  the  17th  Century,  and 
Chaplain  to  Sir  John  Lucas.  He  was  sequestrated  for 
his  loyalty  to  the  King  in  1642,  but  obtained  redress  on 
the  restoration. 

NICHOLS,  R.  A  weaver,  burned  at  Colchester, 
April  28,  1556. 

NORTHYE,  GEORGE,  of  Clare  Hall.  Chaplain 
to  the  Colchester  Corporation,  1580.  He  was 
suspended  for  a  year  by  the  Bishop  of  London. 
Died,  1593.     Buried  at  St.  James's. 

ORILEY,  SIR  HUGH.  A  royalist  officer  in  the 
siege  of  1648,  taken  prisoner  by  the  Parliamentarians. 

PARNEL,  JAMES.  A  quaker,  who  came  to 
Colchester  when  18  }rears  old,  in  1655,  and  preached 
with  great  zeal  and  success.  His  tenets  drew  upon 
him  the  charge  of  heresy,  and  he  was  imprisoned  in 
the  Castle,  and  suffered  great  hardships  and  indignities, 
being  confined  in  a  chamber  in  the  wall  some  12  feet 
from  the  ground,  with  a  ladder  6  feet  long  as  his  only 
means  of  descent  for  food.  In  attempting  to  get  out 
from  this  miserable  cell,  he  fell  and  was  nearly  killed. 
He  suffered  continued  and  increasing  hardships, 
till  at  last  death  ended  his  sufferings. 

PARR,  DR.  SAMUEL.  A  master  of  the 
Colchester  Grammar  School,  1776-8,  during  part  of 
which  time  he  held  the  cures  of  the  parishes  of 
Holy  Trinity  and  St.  Leonard's  (the  Hythe).  He  was 
a  man  of  unrivalled  classical  erudition,  and  a  very 
voluminous  writer.  He  was  the  author  of  the  epitaph 
to  Dr.  Johnson  in  St.  Paul's  Cathedral.  His  wife  used 
to  say  of  him,  that  he  was  "born  in  a  whirlwind  and 


43 

bred  a  tyrant."  The  ardour  of  his  temper,  with  his 
fulness  of  knowledge,  made  him  a  fluent  speaker,  and 
he  often  preached  extempore  at  Colchester,  his  custom 
being  to  avoid  any  preparation  of  his  subject,  which  he 
selected  from  any  passage  that  struck  him  in  the 
lessons,  epistle,  gospel,  or  psalms  of  the  day.  Born  at 
Harrow,  Jan.  15,  1746-7.  Died  at  Hatton,  March  6, 
1825. 

PEPPER,  ELIZABETH,  of  St.  James's 
Colchester.  A  martyr,  burned  at  Stratford,  June, 
1556. 

PIGG,  OLIVER.  Vicar  of  St.  Peter's  and  Rector 
of  All  Saints,  from  1569  to  1570,  in  which  year  he 
removed  to  Abberton.  He  was  committed  on  the 
charge  of  putting  the  question  in  the  Baptismal 
Service,  "  Dost  thou  believe  ?  "  not  to  the  child,  but  to 
the  parents.  He  finally  conformed  to  the  law  and  was 
discharged. 

PRICE,  SERJEANT,  L.L.D.  Recorder  of 
Colchester  in  1722,  or  rather  Deputy  of  Earl  Cowper, 
who  was  Lord  High  Chancellor,  and  who  did  not 
reside  in  the  Borough.  Dr.  Price  lived  at  Tymperleys, 
in  Trinity  Street,  the  former  residence  of  Dr.  Gilberd 
(q.v.) 

PURCAS,  WILLIAM,  of  Bocking.  A  martyr, 
burned  at  Colchester,  outside  the  Town  Walls,  on  the 
morning  of  Aug.  2,  1557. 

QUARLES,  STR  ROBT.,  Kt.  M.P.  for  Colchester 
in  the  reign  of  Charles  I.  Grandfather  of  the  poet, 
Francis  Quarles. 

QUINCEY,  SAHER  DE,  Earl  of  Winchester. 
He  brought  an  army  of  foreigners  into   the  country, 


44 

and  besieged  Colchester  Castle  in  12 15,  but  hearing 
that  the  Barons  at  London  were  hastening  to  its  relief, 
he  withdrew  to  Bury  St.  Edmunds.  However,  he  or 
another  party  soon  afterwards  made  themselves 
masters  of  Colchester,  and  plundered  it,  as  they  had 
done  Ipswich  and  other  places.  But  after  a  few  days' 
siege,  the  King  (John)  re-took  it,  coming  in  person  to 
Colchester  with  what  forces  he  could  muster. 

RATCLIFF,  JOHN.  Lord  of  the  Manor  of 
Lexden,  1440- 1494.  In  1485  he  received  the  title  of 
Lord  Fitzwalter,  and  unhappily  engaged  in  a  conspiracy 
to  set  Perkin  Warbeck  on  the  throne.  He  was 
convicted  of  high  treason,  and  obliged  to  forfeit  all  his 
estates,  though  they  were  afterwards  restored  to  his 
son,  the  Earl  of  Sussex.     He  was  beheaded  at  Calais. 

RAWLINS,       LIEUT.-COL.       GEORGE.         A 

royalist  officer  taken  prisoner  in  the  siege  in  1648. 

RAWSTORN,  SAMUEL.  Lived  at  Lexden,  and 
died,  1719-20.  He  married  Sarah,  daughter  of  Thomas 
Papillon,  of  Acris,  in  Kent. 

RAYNHAM,  JOHN.  Mayor  of  Colchester  in  1705. 
He  admitted  96  foreigners  to  the  freedom  of  the 
Borough  on  his  own  authority,  and  swore  them  in 
privately  without  the  Town  Clerk,  for  which  reason 
they  lost  their  freedom. 

REBOW,  SIR  ISAAC.  Son  of  John  Rebow. 
M.P.  for  Colchester  in  the  reigns  of  William  and 
Mary,  Anne,  and  George  I.  He  lived  at  Head  Gate. 
He  was  made  High  Steward  and  Recorder  in  1693, 
and  also  served  as  Mayor.  Died,  1726.  He  purchased 
Colchester  Castle  of  John  Wheely,  1704. 


45 

REBOW,  ISAAC  LEMING.  M.P.  for  Colchester 
in  the  reigns  of  George  II.  and  III.  Son  of 
Sir  Isaac  Rebow.     Died,  1735. 

REBOW,  ISAAC  MARTIN.  Son  of  Isaac 
Leming  Rebow.  Recorder  and  M.P.  for  Colchester. 
Died,  1 781.     Buried  in  St.  Mary's  Church. 

REBOW,  JOHN.  A  Colchester  merchant. 
Married  Sarah,  daughter  of  Francis  Tayspill.  Died, 
1699,  aged  71,  and  was  buried  in  St.  Mary's  Church, 
where  there  is  a  monument  to  his  memory,  erected  by 
Sir  Isaac  Rebow. 

REYNOLDS,  SAMUEL.  M.P.  for  Colchester  in 
the  reign  of  Charles  II.  He  lived  in  St.  James's 
parish.     Died,  1694. 

RUSH,  SAMUEL,  of  London,  a  vinegar  merchant, 
gave,  in  1711,  ^"ioo  for  purchasing  a  building  for  the 
Charity  Schools  of  Colchester,  and,  in  1741,  his  widow 
bequeathed  £50  to  the  Schools. 

ROUND,  CHARLES  GRAY.  M.P.  for  North 
Essex.  Inherited  the  Castle,  1834,  and  presented  the 
"  Chapel"  to  the  Town  for  a  Museum  and  one  of  the 
mural  chambers  for  a  Record  Room.     Died,  1867. 

ROUND,  REV.  JAMES  THOMAS,  B.D.  Born 
in  St.  James's  parish,  July  14,  1798.  Second  son  of 
Mr.  Charles  Round.  He  became  classical  tutor  at 
Balliol  College,  Oxford,  and  subsequently  rector  of 
St.  Nicholas  and  St.  Runwald.  He  was  appointed 
Rural  Dean  in  1840,  and  an  Hon.  Prebendary  of  St. 
Paul's  in  1843.  He  resigned  the  living  of  St.  Nicholas 
in  1846,  and,  in  1851,  his  college  presented  him  to  the 
Rectory  of  All  Saints,  Colchester,  and,   in   1858,  he 


46 

re-built  the  Rectory  house  of  that  .parish.  The 
Chancel  and  part  of  the  nave  of  St.  John's  Church  was 
built  by  a  fund  raised  to  his  memory  after  his  death, 
which  occurred  Aug.  27,  i860.  He  edited  a  collection 
oi  the  prose  works  of  Bishop  Ken,  and  was  the  author 
of  a  commentary  on  the  four  Evangelists. 

ROUND,  JOHN.  Recorder  of  Colchester.  Third 
son  of  William  Round,  J. P.,  of  Birch  Hall.  Born, 
June  20,  1736.  Died,  Nov.  9,  1813.  Buried  at  St. 
Martin's. 

ROUND,  GEORGE.  Son  of  George  Round,  J. P., 
of  Lexden  House.  Born,  22nd  March,  1803.  Died, 
1857.  He  was  appointed  High  Sheriff  of  Essex  in 
1845.  Married  Margaret,  daughter  of  Major-Gen. 
W.  Borthwick,  R.A.,  of  Dedham. 

ROUND,  CHARLES,  J. P.,  of  Birch  Hall, 
Colchester  Castle,  the  Holly  Trees,  &c.  Born,  July 
31,  1770.  Died,  April  18,  1834.  Son  of  James  Round, 
of  Birch  Hall. 

ROUND,  CHARLES  GRAY,  J.P.  and  D.L., 
Essex.  Son  of  Charles  Round  (q.v.)  Born,  Jan.  28, 
1797.  He  was  Recorder  of  Colchester,  owner  of 
Colchester  Castle,  and  Lord  of  the  Manors  of  Great 
and  Little  Birch,  and  Chairman  of  the  Essex  Quarter 
Sessions  for  27  years.  Contested  Oxford  University 
against  Mr.  Gladstone  in  1847.  Died,  Dec,  1867. 
Married  Jemima  Sarah,  daughter  of  Major  G.  Brock, 
of  Colchester. 

SAMBROOK,  LT.-COL.  A  royalist  officer  killed 
in  the  siege,  July  5,  1648. 

SAVAGE,  JOHN,  Viscount  Colchester.  Grandson 
of  the  Earl  of  Rivers  (see  Darcy,)  and  succeeded  to  his 
title,  Feb.,  1639. 


47 

SAVAGE,.  RICHARD.  The  last  Viscount 
Colchester.     Died,  Aug.  18,   1712. 

SAVAGE,  THOMAS.  Son  of  John  Savage. 
Succeeded  to  the  title.     Died,  Sept.,  1694. 

SAYER,  GEORGE.  An  alderman,  and  one  of  the 
bailiffs  of  the  town.  He  was  possessed  of  several 
estates  in  the  country.  He  gave  4  almshouses  to  the 
town  (in  Balkerne  Lane)  in  1570.  They  had  no 
endowment,  and  have  long  been  taken  down.  He  was 
Grandson  of  John  Sayer  (q.v.)  who,  though  a  younger 
son,  obtained  possession  of  his  father's  estate  in 
consequence  of  the  flight  of  his  elder  brother  to 
Holland,  owing  to  religious  persecution  in  the  reign 
of  Henry  VIII.  George  Sayer  died  in  1577,  and  was 
buried  with  his  ancestors  in  St.  Peter's  Church,  where 
a  remarkable  monument  to  his  memory  may  be  seen. 
The  family  of  Sayer  or  Sears  is  found  located  in  the 
vicinity  of  Colchester  in  the  early  part  of  the  13th 
Century,  and  possessed  then  of  considerable  estates. 
Other  members  of  the  family  were  Sir  George  Sayers, 
died  1650,  and  Richard  Sayer,  buried  in  St.  Peter's, 
1610. 

SAYER,  JOHN.  A  Colchester  Alderman,  died  1509. 
Buried  in  St.  Peter's  Church. 

SHAWE,  SIR  JOHN.  A  prominent  royalist  during 
Cromwell's  Government.  Lived  in  the  parish  of 
All  Saints.  He  was  brought  up  to  the  law,  and  at  the 
Restoration  was  made  Recorder  of  Colchester,  a  post 
which  he  resigned  Nov.  12,  1677.  He  was  three  times 
M.P.  for  the  town,  and  died  1690,  aged  73.  Buried  in 
Trinity  Church. 


48 

SHIPMAN,  SIR  ABRAHAM.  A  royalist  officer, 
made  prisoner  in  the  siege,  1648. 

SILVERSIDE,  AGNES.  A  martyr,  burned  at 
Colchester,  outside  the  Town  Walls,  on  the  morning 
of  Aug.  2,  1557. 

SIRIC        }       A  Priest  whose  wooden  church  was 
SIGERIC  J    on  the  site  on  which  Eudo  afterwards 
founded  St.  John's  Abbey. 

SKINNER,  DR.  THOMAS.  Physician  to  General 
Monk.  Lived  in  All  Saints  parish.  He  was  the 
author  of  "  Motus  Compositi,"  "  Life  of  General 
Monk,"  and  other  works.  Buried  in  St.  Mary's 
Church,  Aug,  8,  1679. 

SMITH,  SAMUEL.  A  Colchester  tailor,  who  was 
so  frightened  by  a  practical  joke  in  the  shape  of  a 
person  in  a  white  sheet,  that  his  mental  faculties  were 
deranged,  and  he  became  a  well-known  local  eccentric, 
who  went  about  the  streets  making  speeches.  On  one 
occasion,  for  inciting  riot  at  Dedham,  he  was 
condemned  to  the  stocks,  and  pretending  more 
madness  than  he  was  really  victim  to,  he  got  the 
constable  to  show  him  how  to  put  his  feet  in  the 
stocks,  and  then  promptly  locked  the  unhappy  officer 
in  and  escaped  to  Colchester.  Finally,  a  delusion  that 
he  had  committed  a  robbery,  led  him  to  commit  suicide 
by  hanging.  The  date  of  his  birth  and  death  is  not 
known,  but  he  was  a  contemporary  of  E.  P.-  Strutt, 
who  gives  a  short  account  of  him  in  his  note  book  of 
Colchester  Celebrities. 

SPURGEON,  REV.  CHARLES  HADDON. 
The  famous  Baptist  Pastor  of  the  Metropolitan 
Tabernacle.     He  was  born  at  Kelvedon,  June  19,  1834, 


49 

his  parents  being  strict  Congregationalists.  His 
father,  John  Spurgeon,  was  in  business,  and  settled  in 
Colchester  about  1840.  His  mother  was  a  Colchester 
woman  (youngest  sister  of  Mr.  C.  P.  Jervis,  of 
Colchester.)  The  Rev.  C.  H.  Spurgeon,  who  early 
left  the  sect  to  which  his  parents  belonged,  and  joined 
the  Baptists,  became  a  preacher  whose  name  is  of  world 
wide  reputation.  He  frequently  visited  his  native 
County  and  Colchester.  After  a  lingering  illness,  he 
died  at  Mentone,  Jan.  31,  1892. 

SPENCE,  JOHN.  A  weaver,  burned  at  Colchester, 
April  28,  1556. 

STANHOPE,  SIR  JOHN.  Treasurer  of  the 
Chamber  to  Queen  Elizabeth,  who  granted  him 
Colchester  Castle. 

ST.  CLARE,  HUBERT  DE.  One  of  the  earliest 
Constables  of  Colchester  Castle.  He  fought  for  King 
Henry  II.  at  the  Siege  of  Bridgenorth,  and  thrust 
himself  between  the  King  and  one  of  the  enemy,  so 
that  he  saved  the  King  and  received  his  own  death 
wound.  The  King  gave  Hubert's  daughter  in  marriage 
to  William  de  Lanvallei,  with  her  father's  inheritance. 

STEPHENS,  JOHN.  Counsellor  at  Law,  J.P., 
and  of  the  Quorum.  Lived  at  Crouched  Friars. 
Died,  1620. 

STEPHENS,  JOHN,  Jun.  Counsellor  at  Law. 
Lived  at  Crouched  Friars,  and  died  1626. 

STOCKTON,  OWEN.  Born  at  Chichester,  May, 
1630.  At  the  age  of  16,  he  went  to  Christ's  College, 
Cambridge,  and  was  a  pupil  of  the  celebrated  Henry 
More.     He  was  introduced  to  Charles  I.,  who  said, 

G 


5o 

"  Here  is  a  little  scholar  indeed,  God  bless  him  !  " 
He  chose  to  become  an  itinerant  preacher,  and  rose  to 
such  fame,  that  the  Mayor  of  Colchester,  Thomas 
Laurence,  and  the  Corporation,  invited  him  to  be 
their  Chaplain,  a  post  which  he  accepted ;  and 
preached  also  on  Sunday  mornings  at  St.  James's, 
without  fee.  He  removed  from  Colchester  after  this, 
but  returned  and  took  out  a  license  in  1672,  to  be  a 
Presbyterian  and  Independent  Teacher  in  St.  Martin's 
Lane,  Colchester.  He  was  the  author  of  many 
M.SS.  and  publications.     Died,  Sept.  10,  1680. 

STORY,  GEOFFREY.  A  bold  and  turbulent 
Abbot  of  St.  John's,  imprisoned  for  high  treason  in 
the  6th  year  of  Henry  IV. 's  reign.  He  was  carried 
from  his  chamber  to  the  Moot  Hall  in  a  chair,  being 
ill  at  the  time,  and  there  imprisoned  for  five  weeks, 
and  was  afterwards  taken  to  Nottingham  Castle. 

STOW,  HENRY,  of  Lexden.  Famous  for  his 
auriculas,  said  to  have  been  the  finest  in  the  Kingdom, 
if  not  in  all  Europe.  Some  of  them  had  133  blossoms 
on  a  single  stem.     He  also  grew  magnificent  tulips. 

STRUTT,  SIR  DENNARD.  A  royalist  officer 
taken  prisoner  in  the  siege  of  1648. 

STRUTT,  BENJAMIN.  Chamberlain  of  Colchester 
in  the  early  part  of  the  18th  Century.  He  was 
familiarly  known  as  "  Ben  Strutt,"  and  like  his  son, 
E.  P.  Strutt  (q.v.,)  was  fond  of  composing  verses  and 
making  caricature  sketches  of  local  celebrities. 

STRUTT,  E.  P.  Son  of  Benjamin  Strutt  (q.v.) 
A  Colchester  worthy  who  had  the  gift  of  making 
clever  caricatures  of  his  local  contemporaries  in  the 
1 8th  Century.     A   small  note   book   containing   these 


5i 

was  given  by  Strutt  to  the  late  Mr.  J.  E.  Tabor,  and  is 
now  in  the  Colchester  Museum.  It  contains  portraits 
(among  many  others)  of  Capt.  Crane  (who  fought  at 
Bunker's  Hill),  Petticoat  John  (bell  toller  at  St. 
Giles's),  Luke  Nelson  (q.v.,)  Doctor  Mann,  John 
Dunthorne  (a  local  artist  and  a  friend  of  Constable), 
Samuel  Smith  (q.v.,)  John  Hall  (an  old  soldier),  and 
Lieut.  John  Andrews  (who  was  interviewed  at  Lexden 
Heath  by  the  Duke  of  York  on  the  occasion  of  an 
inspection  of  troops.  "  How  old  are  you,  Andrews  ? 
said  the  Duke,  "  Ninety  years,"  said  Andrews,  "  and 
have  been  in  the  service  70  years.  His  Royal  Highness 
asked  how  long  he  had  worn  his  suit  of  Regimentals. 
"  About  40  years,"  replied  Andrews.  The  Duke  felt 
the  cloth,  and  remarked  that  such  was  not  made  now- 
a-days.  "  No,  nor  such  men  neither,"  said  the 
veteran.")     E.  P.  Strutt  died  in  Winsley's  almshouses. 

SUMMERSUM,      THOMAS      WILSHIRE.      A 

centenarian,  born  at  the  Hythe,  Nov.  19,  1791  ;  died 
at  Brightlingsea,  Feb.  13,  1892.  His  grandfather, 
Thomas  Wilshire,  was  Mayor  of  Colchester  in  1765, 
and  was  the  first  to  wear  the  Mayor's  Chain  of  Office 
(presented  by  Mr.  Leonard  Ellington,  an  eminent  bay 
factor  of  London,  and  a  member  of  the  Society  of 
Friends).  As  a  boy,  Summersum  journeyed  on  a  barge 
to  London  from  the  Hythe,  and  while  on  the  Thames, 
witnessed  the  arrival  of  the  remains  of  Nelson,  brought 
to  London  for  interment  in  St.  Paul's  Cathedral.  He 
left  Colchester  at  the  age  of  24,  and  passed  the 
remainder  of  his  life  at  Brightlingsea,  where,  in 
November,  1891,  there  was  an  enthusiastic  demonstra- 
tion and  banquet  in  honour  of  the  completion  of  his 
hundredth  year,  when  the  old  man  delivered  a  stirring 
speech  and  sang  the  National  Anthem. 


52 

SYMSON,  REV.  BARNABAS,  M.A.  Rector  of 
St.  James's  for  25  years.     Died,  1741-2. 

TABOR,  JAMES  ASH  WELL,  J. P.  A  member 
of  an  old  Colchester  family.  Born  Dec.  2,  1789.  He 
took  great  interest  in  local  philanthropic  work,  and 
was  one  of  the  originatcrs  of  the  museum.  It  must 
also  be  mentioned,  though  the  fact  perhaps  hardly 
redounds  to  his  credit,  that  he  was  instrumental  in 
effecting  the  removal  of  the  Moot  Hall  and  Middle 
Row.  He  established  the  Colchester  Ragged  Schools. 
Wrote  "  Memoir  of  Charles  Burgess  Harwood," 
"  Lecture  on  Rivers,"  "  Improvement  of  the  Colne 
Navigation,"  "History  of  Lion  Walk  Independent 
Church,"  "Nonconformist  Protest,"  and  "What  is 
Truth."  Died  at  his  residence  in  Crouch  Street, 
Nov.  1,  1881. 

TAYLOR,  ANN  (see  Mrs.  Gilbert). 

TAYLOR,  REV.  ISAAC.  An  independent 
minister  who  came  to  Colchester  in  1795.  He  was  the 
author  of  poems  and  prose  works,  the  best  known  of 
the  latter  being  on  "  Self-Cultivation."  He  was  father 
of  the  well  known  Jane  and  Ann  Taylor,  the  latter  of 
whom  became  Mrs.  Gilbert  (q.v.)  He  lived  in  a  house 
now  divided  into  two,  just  below  St.  Martin's  Church, 
in  West  Stockwell  Street.     Died  Dec.  12,  1829. 

TAYLOR,  ISAAC.  Son  of  Rev.  Isaac  Taylor. 
Wrote  "  Natural  History  of  Enthusiasm,"  and  other 
minor  works.  He  lived  in  Stockwell  Street,  Colchester, 
1796  to  1810.     Died  June,  28,  1865. 

TAYLOR,  JANE.  Sister  of  Ann  Taylor  (Mrs. 
Gilbert),  and  daughter  of  Rev.  Isaac  Taylor.  Lived 
in   Stockwell   Street,   Colchester,    1 796-1 811.       Wrote 


53 

"Essays  in   Rhyme,"   and   other   volumes   of  poems. 
Died  1824. 

THURSTON,  JOHN.  Died  a  prisoner  for  religion 
in  the  Castle,  in  1557. 

TUKE,  COL.  SAMUEL.  "A  man  of  honour  and 
integrity."  Towards  the  close  of  the  siege,  in  1648,  he 
was  sent  out,  with  J.  Barnardiston,  to  Fairfax,  to  ask 
him  to  agree  to  the  terms  he  had  previously  offered, 
but  it  was  too  late.  Fairfax,  feeling  that  he  then  had 
the  power  in  his  own  hands,  declined  all  terms. 

TWINING,  REV.  THOMAS.  A  Rector  of 
St.  Mary-at-the-Walls  in  the  18th  Century.  He 
published  in  1789  a  translation  of  Aristotle's  Poetics, 
and  in  1790  a  History  of  the  Pharisees.  A  record  of 
his  career  will  be  found  in  a  work  published  by 
Mr.  John  Murray,  under  the  title  ot  "  A  Country 
Clergyman  of  the  18th  Century."  Born  Jan.,  1734. 
Died,  August,  1804. 

ULWINE.  A.  Colcestrian,  and  the  only  bearer  of 
the  venerable  title  of  monitor,  or  crier,  recorded  in 
Domesday. 

VERE,  JOHN  DE.  Earl  of  Oxford  and  Constable 
of  the  Tower  of  London.  The  Fishery  at  Colchester 
was  bestowed  upon  him  by  Henry  VI.  He  was  made 
Constable  of  the  Castle,  1496. 

VILLIERS,  GEORGE,  Duke  of  Buckingham. 
He  married  Fairfax's  only  daughter.  There  is  a 
tradition  that  he  applied  to  Charles  II.  to  have  the 
tablet  erased,  which  is  in  St.  Giles's  Church,  to  the 
memory  of  Lucas  and  Lisle.  The  matter  was  referred 
to  Lord  Lucas,  who  said  he  would  willingly  erase  it  if 


54 

they  would  put  in  its  place  that  Lucas  and  Lisle  were 
barbarously  murdered  for  their  loyalty  to  Charles  I., 
and  that  his  son  Charles  II.  ordered  the  monument  to 
be  erased,  whereupon  the  King  ordered,  that  instead  of 
being  erased,  the  memorial  should  be  cut  even  deeper 
than  before,  which  was  done,  and  accounts  for  the 
present  depth  of  the  lettering. 

VITELS,  CHRISTOPHER.  A  disciple  of  Henry 
Nicholas,  of  Delft,  founder  of  a  strange  sect  called 
"  the  family  of  love."  Vitels  established  a  branch  of 
the  ssct  in  Colchester,  in  the  reign  of  Queen  Mary. 

WALSINGHAM,  SIR  FRANCIS.  This  famous 
statesman,  born  in  1536,  at  Chislehurst,  was  Recorder 
of  Colchester  during  the  greater  part  of  Elizabeth's 
reign.  With  all  the  services  he  rendered,  and  the 
distinctions  he  achieved,  he  died  poor,  April  6,  1590. 
He  was  buried  in  St.  Paul's  Cathedral. 

WARREN,  EDWARD.  Ejected  from  the  vicarage 
of  St.  Peter's  about  1670,  and  practised  physic  in  the 
town.  Afterwards  took  out  a  license  to  be  a 
Presbyterian  teacher  "  at  his  own  house,  or  John 
Rayner's,  in  Colchester."  Author  of  several  publica- 
tions.    Died,  1690. 

WATERHOUSE,  THOMAS.  Ejected  from  the 
living  of  Ash,  in  Suffolk.  He  became  Master  of 
Colchester  Grammar  School  (1643  to  1647)  in 
succession  to  William  Dugard. 

WATSON,  EDWARD.  The  first  Master  of  the 
Grammar  School.  Appointed  by  the  Corporation, 
1585. 

WATSON,  J.  YELLOLY,  of  Thorpe-le-Soken. 
Presented   a  valuable   collection   of    Minerals  to  the 


55 

Museum,  and  wrote  Sketches  of  Ancient  Colchester 
and  other  valuable  contributions  to  Local  Archaeology. 
Died,  May  18,  1888,  aged  70. 

WATTS,  SIR  JOHN.  A  royalist  officer  made 
prisoner  in  the  siege  of  1648. 

WEGG,  GEORGE.  A  Colchester  merchant 
tailor  and  Town  Councillor.  Lived  in  St.  James's 
parish,  in  a  house  called  Berryfield.  He  made  a 
bequest  to  the  poor  of  St.  Nicholas  parish,  and  was 
buried  in  that  Churchyard,  1747,  aged  82. 

WENOCK,    \       JOHN.     A  bay-maker.     Endowed 

WINNOCK,  j  6  almshouses  in  the  parish  of  St. 
Giles's. 

WHALLEY,  COL.  An  officer  under  Fairfax  in 
the  siege  in  1648. 

WHEELER,  JAMES.  A  churchwarden  of  St. 
Botolph's,  who  was  twice  excommunicated  for 
refusing  to  rail  in  the  communion  table  in  1635.  He 
was  imprisoned  for  three  years,  and  his  house  broken 
up.  Escaping  from  prison,  the  Mayor,  Robert  Buxton, 
had  his  family  kept  in  custody,  and  his  house  ransacked 
in  search  of  him.  He  died  abroad,  leaving  his  wife 
and  children  ruined. 

WHEELY,  JOHN,  Jun.  Purchased  the  Castle, 
May  9,  1683,  for  the  purpose  of  destroying  it,  but 
finding  the  project  too  costly,  abandoned  it,  and  in 
1704  sold  the  Castle  to  Sir  Isaac  Rebow. 

WHITE,  SIR  THOS.,  Kt.  Lord  Mayor  of 
London  in  1553.  Received  the  honour  of  Knighthood 
for  preserving  the  peace  of  the  city  in  Wyatt's  rebellion. 
He  made  numerous  liberal  benefactions  to  various 
towns,  including  Colchester,  in  1566. 


56 

WICKS,  CAPT.  A  royalist  officer  taken  prisoner 
in  the  siege,  in  1648. 

WINSLEY,  ARTHUR,  J.P.  A  Colchester 
Alderman,  who  founded  and  endowed  12  almshouses  in 
St.  Botolph's  parish.  He  left  ^250  for  a  monument  to 
be  erected  to  him  in  St.  James's  Church,  with  his 
statue  in  marble,  holding  a  book,  on  which  are 
inscribed  the  words — "  Go,  and  do  thou  likewise." 
Whether  or  not  this  injunction  has  been  taken  into 
consideration,  the  bequest  has  grown  so  that  the 
number  of  houses  is  now  increased  to  18.  Died, 
Jan.  30,  1726-7. 

WIRE,  WILLIAM.  Son  of  John  Wire,  who 
died  in  Winsley's  Almshouses,  April,  1856.  He  was 
born,  June  29,  1804.  Died,  April  1,  1857.  He  was  a 
watchmaker  in  Colchester,  and  at  the  same  time  he 
dealt  in  all  sorts  of  curiosities,  being  himself  a 
zealous  antiquarian.  For  25  years  there  passed 
through  his  hands,  the  chief  bulk  of  the  coins,  urns, 
and  Roman  remains  found  in  the  town,  and  as  there 
was  no  local  museum,  these  passed  away  to  London, 
Oxford,  and  Cambridge,  or  to  private  collectors. 
William  Wire  kept  a  detailed  account  of  all  these 
relics,  with  drawings,  in  a  valuable  journal,  which 
is  now  in  the  Colchester  Museum.  Mr.  Wire 
was  a  good  Anglo-saxon  scholar,  and  a  first-class 
numismatist.  He  corresponded  with  all  antiquaries  of 
note,  and  Mr.  C.  Roach  Smith  paid  a  graceful  tribute 
to  his  memory  in  his  "  Retrospections,"  vol.  II. 
Mr.  Wire  reprinted  "  Colchester's  Teares,"  a  rare 
tract  written  at  the  time  of  the  siege,  1648.  His  shop 
was  a  place  of  resort  for  many  leading  men  of  science 
and  archaeology. 


57 

WIRE,  DAVID.  A  native  of  Colchester,  who 
became  Lord  Mayor  of  London,  1858-9.  He 
commenced  his  career  in  London  as  an  office  boy  with 
Mr.  Daniel  Whittle  Harvey  (q.v.),  who  seems  to  have 
skilfully  gauged  the  lad's  capacities,  and  induced  him 
to  leave  Colchester.     Died  at  Lewisham,  i860. 

WOLTON,  HENRY.  A  Colchester  merchant, 
who  held  the  office  of  Alderman,  and  was  six  times 
Mayor  of  the  town.     Died  1874,  aged  71. 

YETSWEIRT,  NICASIUS.  Secretary  for  the 
French  tongue  to  Queen  Elizabeth,  who  granted  him 
the  revenues  belonging  to  the  Lepers'  Hospital, 
Colchester. 

ERRATUM. 

Page  41.  The  account  of  the  Duchess  of  Newcastle 
is  from  the  Biographia  Britannica,  though  evidently 
"daughter"  of  Sir  Charles  Lucas  is  a  misprint  for  sister. 
She  was  daughter  of  Sir  Thomas  Lucas. 


HOK^E 


58 


POST    SCRIPT. 

Several  additions  have  come  to  hand  too  late  for  insertion  in  their 
proper  place  in  the  foregoing  pages,  and  I  have  to  thank  Mr.  Wilson 
Marriage  (Mayor  of  Colchester),  Mr.  Henry  Laver,  F.S.A., 
Mr.  James  Round,  M.P.,  and  others  for  the  following  addenda:— 

CHURCHILL,  J.  M.  A  Doctor  resident  in  Colchester  some  30 
years  ago,  who  was  joint  author  of  Stephenson  6°  Churchill's  Medical 
Botany — a  standard  work  of  reference. 

CRISP,  STEPHEN.  Born  at  Colchester,  1628.  He  was 
converted  to  Quakerism  by  the  preaching  of  James  Pamell,  the  Quaker 
Martyr,  in  1655,  and  was,  for  promulgating  these  opinions,  imprisoned 
in  the  Moot  Hall  for  a  year.  He  travelled  largely  on  the  Continent, 
introducing  his  views  in  Holland  and  Germany.  Married  a  German 
lady  connected  with  the  Princess  Elizabeth  of  the  Rhine.  On  the 
accession  of  Charles  II.,  he  was  offered  the  post  of  Magistrate  in 
Colchester.  He  died  1692,  when  on  a  visit  to  London,  and  was  buried 
at  Bunhill  Fields.  His  collection  of  writings  and  a  history  of  his  life 
were  published  in  1694,  by  T.  Sovvle,  at  the  Crooked  Billet,  in 
Holywell  Lane,  Shoreditch. 

DUNTHORNE,  J.  "  The  Colchester  Hogarth,"  as  he  was  called. 
I  am  not  able  to  give  any  detailed  account  of  this  worthy,  but  must 
refer  my  readers  to  Leslie's  Life  of  Constable,  in  which  I  believe  some 
interesting  particulars  about  Dunthorne  will  be  found.  He  lived  in 
Colchester,  at  the  end  of  the  last  century.  Many  of  his  water 
colour  drawings  still  exist  in  Colchester.  (His  portrait  is  in  the 
frontispiece) . 

GRAUNT,  EDWARD,  of  Colchester.  When  attending  a  Meeting 
ot  the  Society  of  Friends  in  Colchester,  he  was  grievously  injured  by 
the  Troopers  sent  to  break  up  the  Meeting,  and  died  about  a  month 
afterwards,  aged  70  years. 

GRIFFITHS,  DR.  MOSES.  Practised  as  a  physician  in 
Colchester,  and  published  a  Practical  Treatise  an  Hectic  Fevers  and 
Pulmonary  Consumption,  written  in  Colchester  in  1776  (newer  edition, 
London.  1795).  In  this  work  is  the  original  prescription  for 
"Grimths's  Mixture,"  a -well  known  and  useful  recipe  in  the 
treatment  of  cases  of  debility.  This  formula  has  been  adopted  in  the 
English,  American,  and  Continental  Pharmacopoeias,  under  the  name 


59 

of  Mistura  ferri  composita.  It  is  still  frequently  prescribed.  A 
likeness  of  him,  by  Dunthorne,  is  in  Mr.  F.  Reeling's  possession. 

LAY,  BENJAMIN.  Born  at  Colchester,  1677.  A  Quaker,  who 
travelled  in  many  parts  of  the  world,  and  obtained  a  private  audience 
with  King  George  II.,  in  order  to  present  to  him  an  Essay  on  Milton. 
He  was  a  man  of  peculiar  physique,  being  but  4ft.  7m.  in  height,  his 
head  large  in  proportion  to  his  body,  hunch-backed,  with  a  projecting 
chest,  and  very  slender  legs.  His  face  was  remarkable.  He  had  a 
very  active  mind,  and  left  England  for  Barbadoes,  but  was  greatly 
shocked  there  at  the  horrors  of  the  slave  trade,  and  moved  away  to 
America  after  13  years'  residence,  during  which  he  never  ceased  to 
denounce  slavery.  He  was  intimately  acquainted  with  Benjamin 
Franklin  and  other  distinguished  men.  He  wrote  largely  on  Slavery, 
and  may  be  said  to  be  the  first  Anti- Slavery  Advocate  in  America. 
He  died  at  Abringdon,  Pennsylvania,  in  1759,  aged  82  years,  leaving  a 
legacy  to  the  Colchester  Society  of  Friends,  for  enabling  poor  Quakers 
to  emigrate  to  America,  and  to  relieve  distress  in  Colchester.  He  give 
directions  for  his  body  to  be  cremated,  but  his  friends  refused  to  carry 
this  into  effect.  For  a  full  account  of  this  remarkable  and  eccentric 
man,  see  "  Life  of  Benjamin  Lay,  by  Robert  Vaux,"  and  other  writers. 

MACLEAN,  ALLAN,  M.D.  Physician,  Naturalist,  and  Horti- 
culturist. Born  at  Sudbury,  1796.  Died  at  Colchester,  1869.  His 
knowledge  of  Natural  History  was  very  extensive,  and  he  made  important 
experiments  in  the  propagation  of  fruit  and  vegetables.  He  raised  the 
first  white  pelargonium,  and  his  experiments  with  marrow  fat  peas 
enabled  us  to  have  that  delicacy  a  month  soonei  than  was  before 
possible.  His  Early  Red  variety  of  rhubarb  is  also  unsurpassed  for  its 
early  fitness  for  table,  as  well  as  for  its  flavour.  For  many  years  he 
held  the  appointment  of  Physician  to  the'  Essex  and  Colchester 
Hospital. 

NETTLES,  STEPHEN  (page  41).  The  "Essex  Archaeological 
Transactions  "  issued  in  March,  1892,  state  that  this  worthy  was  the 
author  of  a  learned  reply  to  the  Jewish  part  of  Selden's  History  of 
Tithes.  He  is  mentioned  in  Walker's  "Sufferings  of  the  Clergy,"  as 
"a  very  smart  and  learned  person."     He  was  born  1584.     Died  1654. 

WEGG,  G.  To  the  account  already  given  of  this  worthy  on  page 
56,  I  should  add  that  "  Berryfields  "  is  the  present  East  Hill  House, 
where  there  are  portraits  of  George  Wegg,  his  wife  and  niece,  said  to 
have  been  painted  by  Hudson,  Sir  Joshua  Reynolds's  master. 


POSVERVWT  HYNCTWtKiyMAMWWSiJf 
fe.GvLitl.fW*  GitMRO  IN  MIMORWM 
PlETATi*  FRATBIW/lGvU«tW«Git»£<B 
SiwioXl  AfcMittM  &  MKOic'lN.fe. 

HicPRiMitv.  FJLivs  HitRwmiCiLBiTO 

ARMietRl  foAT'MWviu.fcC«.eE! 
I  jmViT  OwtwricIr  ARTW  miwci 

SVWMIS  W*DiBV5PARI0^U<ITATI  Ptt 
[3WGiKT*PL,MI«0SLONBiKi  RXSRCUIT 

I  .Hftic  wtA  »ce«Rsi-rtN  wmmVRsu  wq 
ElJxfcerrH* f  »vo»*m  atcepm  pvit 
O/Ivtsvccmsmu  Rtai  8AC9W  StRviv'n 

ARHlKTROS  UBRWOeMAWETE  AW6 
*XTER06CEU6«tM  IK  REMNAVTlUf 

c©«p<«yir  Ob'i'it  anwoRcowptiows 

MYMANPl  l6o3  NOVEM8RIS  VLTiMO 
^.TATJS    SV*.  6S 


Monument  to  Dr.  Gilberd  at  Trinity  Church, 
Colchester. 


PARLIAMENTARY     REPRESENTATIVES     OF 
COLCHESTER  FROM  THE  RESTORATION. 

1660     Sir  Harbottle  Grimston. 

John  Shaw. 
1701     Sir  Isaac  Rebow. 

Sir  Thomas  Cook. 
1741     Charles  Gray. 

S.  Savill. 
1784     Sir  E.  Affleck,  Bart. 

Christopher  Potter. 
1750     Robert  Thornton  (W.) 

Lord  Muncaster  (C.) 
1806     Robert  Thornton. 

Wm,  Tuffnell. 
807     R.  H.  Davis  (C.) 

Robert  Thornton  (C.) 
1812     H.  Davis. 

Robert  Thornton. 
181 8     James  B.  Wildman  (C.) 

Daniel  Whittle  Harvey  (R.) 
1820     D.  W.  Harvey. 

J.  B.  Wildman. 

1830  D.  W.  Harvey. 

A.  Spottiswood  (C.) 

1831  W.  Mayhew  (W.)  vice  Spottiswood  unseated. 
1 83 1     D.  W.  Harvey. 

W.  Mayhew. 


62 

1832     Richard  Sanderson  (C.) 
D.  W.  Harvey. 

35     R.  Sanderson. 

J841J  Sir  G- H-  Smyth  (c-) 

1847     Sir  G.  H.  Smyth  (Protectionist.) 

Joseph  A.  Hardcastle  (L.) 
1850     Lord  J.  R.  Manners  (Protectionist.) 

(on  retirement  of  Sir  G.  H.  Smyth.) 
1852     W.  W.  Hawkins  (Protectionist.) 

Lord  John  Manners. 
I^57\  Jonn  Gurdon  Rebow  (L.) 
Feb.)  Taverner  J.  Miller  (C.) 
1857)   Taverner  J.  Miller. 
Apr.)  John  Gurdon  Rebow. 
1859     Taverner  J.  Miller. 

Philip  O.  Papillon  (C.) 
1865     John  Gurdon  Rebow. 

Taverner  J.  Miller. 

1867  E.  K.  Karslake,  Q.C.  (C.) 

(on  resignation  of  T.  J.  Miller.) 

1868  J.  Gurdon  Rebow. 
W.  Brewer,  M.D.  (L.) 

1870     Col.  A.  Learmonth  (C.) 

(on  death  of  Mr.  Rebow.) 
1874     Col.  A.  Learmonth. 

Herbert  B.  Praed  (C.) 
1880     R.  K.  Causton  (L.) 

W.  Willis  (L.) 
1885     After  Redistribution  of  Seats. 

H.  J.  Trotter  (C.) 
1888     Lord  Brooke  (C.) 


COMPLETE    LIST    OF    COLCHESTER 
MAYORS. 

In  the  following  list  the  eight  Mayors  marked  with 
an  asterisk*  are  the  Mayors  who  died  during  their 
office.  Those  marked  t  were  for  some  cause  removed 
before  their  term  of  office  had  expired.  G.  Wegg, 
jun.  (1740),  marked  J,  was  elected,  but  not  sworn.  A 
mandamus  was  sent,  and  on  March  gth,  1740,  Jeremiah 
Daniell,  senior,  was  elected,  but  he  died  in  Feb.,  1741. 


^35 

Daniel  Cole. 

1636 

Robert  Buxton. 

1637 

Henry  Barrington. 

1638 

John  Firlie  (or  Furley.) 

1639 

John  Langley. 

1640 

Robert  Talcott.* 

1641 

Henry  Barrington. 

1641 

Thos.  Wade. 

1642 

Ralph  Harrison. 

1643 

Thomas  Lawrence. 

1644 

John  Cox. 

l645 

Robert  Buxton. 

1646 

John  Langley. 

1647 

William  Cooke. 

1648 

Henry  Barrington. 

1649 

Thomas  Wade. 

1650 

John  Furlie. 

165 1 

Richard  Greene. 

64 

1652  John  Radhams. 

1653  Thos.  Peeke. 

1654  Thos.  Reynolds. 

1655  Thos.  Lawrence. 

1656  John  Vickers. 

1657  Nicholas  Beason. 

1658  Henry  Barrington.t 

1659  Jonn  Radhams. 

1659  Thos.  Peeke. 

1660  John  Gale. 

1661  John  Milbank.f 

1662  Henry  Lambe. 

1662  Thos.  Rennolds. 

1663  William  Moor. 

1664  Thos.  Wade. 

1665  Thos.  Talbot. 

1666  Wm.  Flannar. 

1667  Andrew  Fromanteele. 

1668  Ralph  Creffield. 

1669  Henry  Lambe. 

1670  William  Moor. 

1 671  John  Rayner. 

1672  Nathaniel  Lawrence. 

1673  Ralph  Creffield. 

1674  Henry  Lambe. 

1675  Alexander  Hinmers. 

1676  Thos.  Greene. 

1677  Ralph  Creffield. 

1678  John  Rayner. 

1679  Nathaniel  Lawrence. 

1680  Ralph  Creffield. 

1681  Wm.  Moor. 

1682  Thos.  Greene. 

1683  Nathaniel  Lawrence. 


65 

1684  John  Stilleman. 

1685  Wm.  Flannar. 

1686  Samuel  Mott. 

1687  Alexander  Hindmers.f 

1687  John  Milbank. 

1688  John  Milbank. 

1689  John  Potter. 

1690  Benjamin  Cock. 

1 69 1  John  Seabrook. 

1692  John  Stileman. 

1693  Samuel  Mott. 

1694  Wm.  Moore. 

1695  John  Beason.* 

1696  John  Seabrook. 

1696  Nath.  Lawrence,  jun. 

1697  Ralph  Creffield,  jun. 

1698  Wm.  Boys. 

1699  Wm.  Francis. 

1700  John  Potter. 

1 70 1  Samuel  Fetherstone. 

1702  Ralph  Creffield,  jun. 

1703  Samuel  Angier. 

1704  Nath.  Lawrence,  jun. 

1705  John  Rainham. 

1706  James  Lawrence. 

1707  George  Clark. 

1708  John  Pepper.* 

1709  Nath.     Lawrence,  sen. 

1709  Samuel  Angier. 

1710  Nath.  Lawrence,  jun. 

171 1  James  Lawrence. 

1712  Peter  Johnson. 

1 71 3  James  Lawrence. 

1714  George  Clark. 


66 


W5 

Peter  Johnson. 

1716 

Sir  Isaac  Rebow,  Kt. 

1717 

Thos.  Grigson. 

1718 

Robt.  Clark. 

1719 

Thos.  Grigson.* 

1719 

Nathaniel  Lawrence. 

1720 

Jeremiah  Daniell. 

1721 

Arthur  Winsley. 

1722 

Edmund  Raynham. 

1723 

Samuel  Jarrold. 

1724 

Peter  Johnson. 

1725 

Jeremiah  Daniell. 

1726 

Matthew  Martin. 

1727 

Sir  Ralph  Creffield,  Kt. 

1728 

John  Blatch. 

1729 

Jas.  Boys  (or  Boyce). 

1730 

Joseph  Duffield. 

i73i 

John  Blatch. 

1732 

Thos.  Carew. 

1733 

James  Boys. 

1734 

Joseph  Duffield. 

1735 

John  Blatch. 

i736 

Thos.  Carew. 

!737 

James  Boys. 

1738 

Joseph  Duffield. 

J739 

John  Blatch. 

1740 

G.  Wegg,  jun.J 

1740 

Jeremiah  Daniell.* 

[From  the  year  1740  to  1763,  there  being  no  Charter  in 

existence,  no  Mayor  could  be  appointed.] 

1763 

Thos.  Clamtree. 

1764 

Henry  Lodge. 

1765 

Thos.  Wilshire. 

1766 

Thos.  Bayles. 

<>7 


1767 

Samuel  Ennew. 

1768 

James  Robjent. 

1769 

Jordan  Harris  Lisle. 

1770 

John  King. 

J77i 

Solomon  Smith.* 

1772 

Thos.  Clamtree. 

1772 

Thos.  Bayles. 

J773 

Thos.  Clamtree. 

1774 

John  Bakers- 

!775 

John  King. 

*775 

Thos.  Clamtree. 

1776 

Thos.  Boggis. 

1777 

Thos.  Clamtree. 

1778 

John  King. 

1779 

Thos.  Clamtree. 

1780 

Thos.  Boggis. 

1781 

John  King. 

1782 

Stephen  Betts. 

1783 

Wm.  Seabor. 

1784 

Samuel  Ennew. 

1785 

Edmund  Lilley. 

1786 

Wm.  Argent. 

1787 

Edward  Capstack. 

1788 

Bezaliel  Angier. 

1789 

Edmund  Lilley. 

1790 

Wm.  Swinborne. 

1791 

John  Gibson. 

1792 

Nathaniel  Barlow. 

1793 

Newton  Tills. 

J794 

Wm.  Phillips. 

*795 

Wm.     Bunnell. 

1796 

Wm.  Mason. 

1797 

Thos.  Hedge. 

1798 

Wm.  Phillips, 

68 


1799 

Robert  Hewes. 

i8oo 

Wm.  Smith. 

1801 

Thos.  Hedge. 

1802 

Wm.  Phillips. 

1803 

Wm.  Bunnell. 

1804 

Thos.  Hedge. 

1805 

Wm.  Sparling. 

1806 

Wm.  Smith. 

1807 

Thos.  Hedge,  jun. 

1808 

Thos.  Hedge. 

1809 

Wm.  Smith. 

1810 

Francis  Tillett  Abell. 

1811 

Francis  Smythies. 

1812 

John  Bridget 

1813 

Wm.  Smith. 

1813 

Wm.  Sparling. 

1814 

John  King. 

1815 

Edward  Clay. 

1S16 

Wm.  Argent. 

1817 

Edward  Clay. 

1818 

Wm.  Argent. 

1819 

Frincis  Tillett  Abell. 

1820 

John  Clay. 

1821 

Jas.  Boggis. 

1822 

Wm.  Smith. 

1823 

John  Clay. 

1824 

Samuel  Clay. 

1825 

John  Clay. 

1826 

Edward  Clay  (St.  Leonard's) 

1827 

John  Clay. 

1828 

Wm.  Sparling. 

1829 

Edward  Clay  (Greenstead). 

1830 

Wm.  Smith. 

1831 

Wm.  Sparling. 

69 

1832  Edward  Clay  (Greenstead). 

1833  Win.  Smith. 

1834  Roger  Nunn. 

[Dr.  Nunn  held  office  till  31st  Dec.,  1835,  when  the 
Municipal  Reform  Act  came  into  operation.] 

Mayors  subsequent  to  the  passing  of  the  Act  for  the  Regulation 
of  Municipal  Corporations  in  England  and  Wales  ($lh 
and  6th  IVM.  IV.,  cap.  76).  Taken  from  the  Minute 
Books  of  the  Council : — 

1836     Geo.  Savill  (Jan.  1.) 

1836  John  Chaplin  (Nov.  9.) 

1837  Saml.  Green  Cooke. 

1838  Geo.  Bawtree. 

1839  Saml.  Green  Cooke. 

1840  Thos.  J.  Turner. 

1 84 1  Henry  Vint. 

1842  Roger  Nunn. 

1843  Henry  Vint. 

1844  Henry  Wolton. 

1845  Henry  Wolton. 

1846  Wm.  Bolton  Smith. 

1847  Henry  Wolton. 

1848  Chas.  Henry  Hawkins. 

1849  Edward  Williams. 

1850  Joseph  Cooke. 

1851  Arthur  Louis  Laing. 

1852  Francis  Smythies. 

1853  Henry  Wolton. 

1854  Edward  Williams. 

1855  Joseph  Cooke. 

1856  Henry  Wolton. 

1857  Peter  Martin  Duncan. 

1858  Arthur  Louis  Laing. 


7° 


i§59 

Edward  Williams. 

i860 

Francis  Smythies. 

1861 

Henry  Wolton. 

1862 

Edward  Williams. 

1863 

John  F.  Bishop. 

1864 

John  F.  Bishop. 

1865 

Chas.  Hy.  Hawkins. 

1866 

P.  O.  Papillon. 

1867 

J.  F.  Bishop. 

1868 

Francis  Smythies. 

1869 

J.  F.  Bishop. 

1S70 

C.  H.  Hawkins. 

1871 

C.  H.  Hawkins. 

1872 

J.  F.  Bishop. 

1873 

Edwd.  A.  Round. 

1874 

J.  F.  Bishop. 

1875 

P.  0.  Papillon. 

1876 

J.  F.  Bishop. 

1877 

Thomas  Moy. 

1878 

Thomas  Moy. 

1879 

John  Kent. 

1880 

S.  Chaplin. 

1881 

J.  B.  Harvey. 

1882 

J.  B.  Harvey. 

1883 

Alfred  Francis. * 

1884 

J.  B.  Harvey. 

1884 

H.  J.  Gurdon-Rebow. 

1885 

Henry  Laver. 

1886 

H.  G.  Egerton  Green. 

1887 

J.  N.  Paxman. 

1888 

E.  J.  Sanders. 

1889 

Asher  Prior. 

1890 

L.  J.  Watts. 

1891 

Wilson  Marriage. 

PUBLICATIONS  BY 

BBNHAM     &     Co., 

24,    HIGH    STREET,    COLCHESTER 


THE  TENDRING  HUNDRED 

IN    THE    OLDEN    TIME, 

A  Series   of  Sketches,  by  the   late  J.  Yelloly  Watson, 
F.G.S.,  J.P.,  Essex.     Third  Edition.     Demy  8vo.,  Cloth. 

Price,  5/-.  Post  free,  5/4. 

"  There  was  a  theory  started  a  few  years  ago  and  ventilated,  if  we 
remember  rightly,  by  Charles  Dickens  in  Household  Words,  that  the 
earth  might  be  likened  to  a  well  balanced  saucer  or  plate,  the 
indented  parts,  like  gravy  receptacles,  filled  with  water.  Thus,  with 
a  slight  tilt  the  water  might  be  made  to  rush  from  one  side  to  the 
other,  flooding  the  dry  parts  and  leaving  the  old  seas  dry ;  and  thus, 
from  a  great  tilt  the  theorist  accounted  for  the  deluge.  At  any  rate 
there  can  be  no  doubt  whatever  that  much  of  what  is  now  dry  land 
was  formerly  sea  and  our  seas  dry  land.  Around  Harwich  and 
Walton,  and  far  away  inland,  marine  shells  and  other  striking  proofs 
of  this  in  coprclites,  &c  ,  are  found  embedded  in  the  soil,  and  the  sea 
is  fast  claiming  her  own  again.  The  town  of  Orwell  went  ages  ago, 
and  the  stones  of  the  "West  Rock,"  part  of  its  own  building 
materials,  have  been  ground  up  into  cement  for  London  builders. 
Old  Walton  has  gone,  and  now,  if  it  were  not  for  "  horses,"  and 
"groins"  and  seawalls,  and  breakwaters,  the  Tendring  Hundred 
would  gradually  but  surely  be  devoured  by  the  "sad  sea  waves." 
(From  The  Tendring  Hundred  in  the  Olden  Time  pp.  4,  5.) 


GUIDE    TO    COLCHESTER 

AND    ITS    ENVIRONS, 

With  Notes  on  the  Flora  and  Entomology  of  the 
District.  A  New,  Kevised,  and  Enlarged  Edition,  with  a 
Map  of  the  Town,  and  numerous  Illustrations.    Crown  8vo. 

Post  free,  1/8. 


"  The  best  things  in  England  are  not  known  to  the  English  people. 
These  go  abroad  to  be  sentimental  over  historical  antiquities,  with 
which  England  abounds.  In  few  parts  of  the  kingdom  are  there 
more  abundant  remains  of  the  olden  time  than  in  and  about 
Colchester.  The  town  is  still  a  pictorial  history  of  Briton,  Roman, 
Saxon,  Norman,  and  Englishman.  Here  was  the  first  Roman 
Colony  founded  in  Britain.  Here  reigned,  that  is  in  legend,  the 
famous  King  Cole;  and  legendary  lore  tells  us  that  his  daughter 
Helena  was  the  mother  of  Constantine !  Colchester  Castle  is  the 
largest  Norman  keep  in  the  Country.  The  Colchester  Garrison  gave 
Fairfax  more  trouble  than  any  other  against  which  he  flung  himself 
and  his  battalions.  Finally,  here  was  the  Moot  Hall,  the  oldest 
municipal  building  in  the  Kingdom.  Was,  alas  !  for  about  thirty 
years  ago  it  was  improved  off  the  face  of  the  earth,  and  the  guilty 
improvers  have  been  ever  since  under  the  Anathema  Maranatha  of 
all  true  antiquarians.  A  trip  to  Colchester  is  a  thing  to  be 
recommended,  accepted,  and  enjoyed.  Although  we  do  not  endorse 
every  assertion  in  this  Guide,  we  may  safely  say  that  every  explorer 
in,  and  especially  round,  this  most  interesting  city,  will  find  great 
advantage  in  going  by  its  directions." — Athenaeum. 


AMONG    THE    TOMBS   OF   COLCHESTER 

An  account  of  all  the  Monuments,  Tablets,  Epitaphs,  and 

Tombs  in  the  various  Church  and  Grave   Yards  in   the 

Town  possessing  features  of  archaeological,  historical,  or 

other  interest.     In  Paper  Wrapper. 

Price,  6d.  Post  free,  7d. 

VNDER      THIS 
MARBLE        LY        THE 
BODIES         OF         THE 
TWO         MOST         VALI 
ANT  CAPTAINS 

S    B  CHAELES 

LVOAS  AND  S    B 

GEORGE  LISLE 

KNIGHTS  WHO 

FOR  THEIR  EMI 
NENT  LOYAL  T Y 

TO  THEIR  SOVE 
RAIN  WERE  ON 

THE  28th  DAY  OF  AV 
GVST  1648  BY  THE 
COMMAND  OF  S  b 
THOMAS  FAIR 

FAX  THEN  GENE 
RAL  OF  THE  PAR 
LIAMENT  ARMY  IN 
COLD  BLOOD  BARBA 
ROVSLY  MVRDERED. 
(From  Among  the  Tombs  of  Colchester,  page  12.) 

"  The  anonymous  compiler  of  this  little  pamphlet  has  performed 
for  Colchester  a  task  which  should  be  undertaken  in  every  important 
town  in  England.  Quaint  and  curious  epitaphs,  as  well  as  those  of 
historical  and  biographical  interest,  have  from  the  first  been 
chronicled  in  the  columns  of  "  N.  &  Q."  The  burial-grounds  of 
Colchester  abound  in  tombstones  which  have  a  value  both  for  the 
general  and  local  antiquary,  and  by  the  aid  of  this  tiny  work  they 
will  be  preserved  for  many  generations  to  come.  In  Essex,  as  in 
other  parts  of  the  country,  the  duty  of  preserving  many  important 
epitaphs  has  been  neglected  until  the  feet  of  the  passers-by  have 
made  them  illegible." — Notes  and  Queries. 

X 


THE   HISTORY   AND   ANTIQUITIES   OF 
COLCHESTER   CASTLE, 

Together    with    an    Introductory    Chapter    on    Ancient 

Colchester.      Demy  8vo.,   147  pp  ,  with  an  illustration 

and  ground-plans. 

Cloth,   3/-.  Boards,   2/6.  Postage,   3d. 

This  work,  which  is  the  result  of  considerable  research,  contains 
fresh  and  exhaustive  information  on  the  origin,  history,  associations, 
and  architecture  of  the  Castle,  together  with  a  full  account  of  its 
little-known  demesnes.  It  also  comprises  many  fresh  facts  on  the 
siege  of  Colchester  and  the  general  history  of  the  Town. 

OPINIONS   OP   THE   PEESS. 

"As  a  critical  and  exhaustive  monograph  on  this  'vastest  of 
Norman  donjons  '  it  is  a  valuable  contribution  not  only  to  the  local, 
but  to  the  general,  history  of  England." — Academy. 

"Probably   the  most  important   contribution   to  the  history  of 
Colchester  since  the  days  of  the  indefatigable  Morant     .... 
There   can   be   no   question   that   the   History   and   Antiquities    of 
Colchester  will  be  the  standard  work  of  reference  on  the  subject  with 
which  it  deals." — Essex  Standard. 

"A  niceiy  bound  and  well  printed  little  volume."—  Chelmsford 
Chronicle. 


TALES  OF  THE  NORTH  SEA, 

By  C.  E.  B. 
Price,  4d.  Post  free,  5d. 

"The  tales  are  nine  in  number,  and  they  are  such  stories  as  we 
might  fairly  expect  to  hear  from  the  great  sea  if  it  could  but  talk, 
instead  of  only  moaning  and  roaring.  Each  tale  is  briefly  but 
carefully  and  pleasantly  told,  and  they  are  interspersed  here  and 
there  with  some  really  good  verses." — Essex  Standard. 

"  Here  is  a  story-teller  of  a  very  remarkable  character,  like  none 
we  have  perused  for  many  a  day,  as  he  goes  right  off  the  beaten 
track,  if  beaten  track  is  a  right  expression  for  the  sea,  which  is 

chiefly  his  theme Yet,  withal,  we  cannot  divest 

ourselves  of  the  sensation  that  there  is  some  thing  uncanny  in  these 
narratives ;  they  are  so  strange  in  matter,  and  oddly  stated." — 
Court  Journal. 

"  Many  just  thoughts  and  a  good  deal  of  information  about  the 
sea  in  a  very  enticing  form." — Western  Morning  News. 

"  We  were  much  struck  with  their  power  and  pathos.  They  are  at 
once  intensely  interesting  and  touching,  and  anybody  who  begins  to 
read  them,  will  certainly  read  on  to  the  end." — Essex  County 
Chronicle. 


GUIDE  TO  WALTON,  CLACTON  <ft  FRINTON, 

With  numerous  Illustrations. 
Price,  4d.  Post  free,  5d. 


HISTORY      OF      COLCHESTER. 

By  Henry  Laver,  Esq.,  F.L.S.,  Illustrated. 
Price,  2d.  Post  free,  2|d. 


THE  ESSEX  LABOURER  DRAWN  FROM  LIFE 

With  29  Illustrations. 
Price,  6d.  Post  free  6£d. 


NOTES    ON    THE    HISTORY    OF   MALDON, 

By  E.  A.  Fitch,  Esq. 
Price,  3d.  Post  free,  3id. 

BENHAM   &   Co., 

PRINTERS   &    PUBLISHERS, 

24,    HIGH    STKEET, 

COLCHESTER, 


HE  following  Books  relating  to  Essex  are 
frequently  in  stock,  or  can  in  most  cases,  be 
procured  to  order.  As  there  are  several  editions  of  some 
works,  the  dates  given  must  be  considered  approximate. 
Particulars  as  to  price,  &c,  may  be  obtained  from 

1  u  <$IU  Hoota  ^Ijoppc, 

1 01,  High  Street, 
-^-®-s^        COLCHESTER. 


AGRICULTURE  of  the  County  of  Essex,  by  the 
Secretary  of  the  Board  of  Agriculture,  illustrated,  2  vols.,  8vo. 

1807. 

ANNALS  OF  EVANGELICAL  NONCONFORMITY  in 
the  County  of  Essex,  from  the  time  of  Wycliffe  to  the 
Restoration;  with  memorials  of  the  Esses  Ministers  who 
were  ejected  or  silenced  in  1660-62,  by  T.  W.  Davids,  of  the 
Congregational  Chapel,  Lion  Walk,  Colchester.  1863. 

ANCIENT   MANORIAL   CUSTOMS,   TENURES,   &c, 

of  the  County  of  Essex,  by  Charnock. 

AUDLEY  END.     (History  of),  by  Lord  Braybrooke,  4to. 

1836. 

AUTOBIOGRAPHY  OF  AN  ENGLISH  GAME- 
KEEPER—John  Wilkins,  of  Stanstead.  Edited  by  Byng  & 
Stephens,  8vo,  illustrated.  (In  the  press.) 

BIRDS  OF  ESSEX.  A  contribution  to  the  Natural 
History  of    the  County,  by  Miller    Christy,   8vo,    illustrated. 

1890. 
Vol.  II.  of  the  Essex  Field  Club— Special  Memoirs. 

BIRD      NESTING      AND     BIRD     SKINNING,     by 

E.  Newman;   revised    and    rewritten   by   Miller    Christy,    1/-. 

1888 
BYGONE   ESSEX.     Chapters  in   the   Ancient   History 
and  Antiquities  of  the  County,  by  various  contributors. 

(In  the  press.) 
Will  be  issued  early  in  1892  at  5/-  to  Subscribers — on  day  of 
publication  the  price  will  be  raised  to  7/6. 

Subscribers'  names  received  by   the    Publisher— T.   Forster, 
Colchester. 

BRAINTREE  UNION.  Proceedings  in  reference  to  the 
Appointment  of  a  Chaplain,  by  an  Elected  Guardian,  8vo., 
29  pp.  Braintree,  1838. 

BRAINTREE  CHURCH  RATE  CASE.  Report  of  the 
Judgments,  Gosling  v.  Veley,  in  1850,  8vo,  44  pp.  1850. 

BRENTWOOD    FREE     GRAMMAR     SCHOOL.      An 

Enquiry  into  its  Revenues  and  Abuses,  8vo,  104  pp.  1823. 

BURGESS,  REV.  W.  Vicar  of  Thorpe,  Kirby,  and 
Walton.    Sermons— Doctrinal  and  Practical  8vo.  1863. 

COLCHESTER  CASTLE,  its  History  and  Antiquities, 
by  H.  Round.  1882. 

COLCHESTER  CASTLE,  a  Roman  Building,  a  few 
remarks  on  the  above  book,  by  G.  Buckler,  8vo,  16  pp., 
not  published.  1882. 


COLCHESTER  CASTLE,  built  by  a  Colony  of  Romans, 
as  a  Temple  to  their  deified  Emperor,  Claudius  Cassar,  by 
H.   Jenkins,  Rector  of  Stanway,  8vo,  with  eight  illustrations, 

1853. 
COLCHESTER  CASTLE,  not  a  Roman  Temple,  being 
a  review  of  the  above  Lecture,  by  E.  L.  Cutts,  8vo,  illustrated. 

1853. 

An  appendix  to  the  above  Lecture,  together  with  a  reply  to 

the  animadversions  of  the  Rev.  E.  L.  Cutts,  8vo.  1853. 

COLCHESTER  CASTLE,  shown  to  have  once  been  the 

Templed  Citadel,  which  the  Romans  raised  to  their  Emperor 
Claudius,  at  Colonia  Camulodunum,  by  H.  Jenkins,  8vo.  1861. 
Revised  edition.  1869. 

COLCHESTER  CASTLE,  a  Roman  Building,  and  the 

oldest  and  noblest  Monument  of  the  Romans  in  Britain,  by 
G.  Buckler,  author  of  "  Twenty-two  of  the  Churches  of  Essex." 
8vo,  illustrated.  1876. 

COLCHESTER  CASTLE,  its  founders,  governors  and 
owners,  with  description  of  St.  Botolph's  Priory,  by  B.  Golding, 
6d.  1892. 

COLCHESTER.  (An  account  of  the  ancient  Borough, 
Town  of)  from  the  earliest  period  to  the  present  time,  by 
R.  Swinborne,  sm.  8vo,  with  seven  engravings.  n.d. 

COLCHESTER.  (Sketches  of  Ancient),  by  J.  Y.  Watson, 
8vo.  1879. 

COLCHESTER.  (Guide  to)  and  its  environs,  with  notes 
on  the  Flora  and  Entomology  of  the  District,  1/-. 

COLCHESTER,  its  History  and  Antiquities.  Selected 
from  the  most  approved  Authors,  by  M.  Carter. 

Of  this  ivork  there  are  several  editions,  the  first  being  scarce, 
the  others  fairly  common. 

COLCHESTER.  (History  and  description  of  the 
Ancient  Town  and  Borough  of,)  by  Thomas  Cromwell,  8vo, 
illustrated.     Of  this  work  there  are  several  editions. 

COLCHESTER.  (Siege  of,)  or  an  event  of  the  Civil 
War,  A.D.,  1648,  by  G.  F.  Townsend,  8vo,  illustrated.  n.d. 

COLCHESTER.  Historical  Sketch  of  the  Parish  of  St. 
Martin.    6d.  1891. 

COLCHESTER.  (The  History  and  description  of,)  the 
Camulodunum  of  the  Britons,  and  the  first  Roman  Colony  of 
Britain,  with  an  account  of  the  Antiquities  of  that  most 
ancient  Borough  (by  Strutt,)  8vo,  usually  in  two  volumes.    1803. 


COLCHESTER.  Short  History  of  the  Town,  by  Dr. 
H.  Laver,  illustrated,  3d.,  post  free 

COLCHESTER,     (Morant's  History,  see  Essex.) 

COLCHESTER.  (Charities  of,)  Report  of  Official 
Enquiry  held  in   Colchester,  in    1886,   before   W.   Good,    1/-. 

Colchester,  1886. 

COLCHESTER.  (History  of,)  by  E.  L.  Cutts,  contains 
a  Chapter  on  the  Jewish  Quarter  of  the  Town,  3/6.  1888. 

COLCHESTER.  Story  of  the  Siege,  by  A.  Penn,  sewed, 
6d.  Colchester,  1888. 

COLCHESTER.  (Report  of  St.  Alban's  Diocesan 
Conference  at,)  in  1889,  6d.  Colchester,  1889. 

COLCHESTER  MUSEUM.  Catalogue  of  the  Antiqui- 
ties therein,  illustrated,  8vo. 

COLCHESTER'S  TEARES,  affecting  and  afflicting 
City  and  Country,  by  several  persons  of  quality,  1648,  and 
several  later  reprints,  8vo  and  4to. 

COLCHESTER  OYSTER  FEAST.  A  Souvenir  of  the 
one  given  on  October  22,  1891,  by  L.  J.  Watts,  Mayor,  8vo, 
illustrated,  1/-.  1891. 

CHARTER  (The  New,)  granted  to  the  Mayor  and 
Commonalty  of  Colchester  in  1763,  with  recitals  of  the  Old 
Charters  confirmed  by  the  present,  8vo.  1764. 

CHARTERS  granted  to  the  Borough  of  Harwich  by 
James  I.  and  Charles  II.,  translated  from  the  original  Latin  by 
order  of  the  Corporation,  4to.  1798. 

CHELMSFORD.     (Narrative  of  the  late  deplorable  fire 

at),  on  March  19,  1808,  with  ground  plan  of  the  part  of  the 

Town  destroyed,  by  Et  Kelham,  a  witness  of  the  Fire,  8vo.  1808. 

A  general  and  circumstantial  account  of  the  above  fire,  by 

W.  W.  Wall,  a  spectator,  8vo.  1804. 

COPENHAGEN,  its  Siege  and  Capture  by  the  British  in 

1807,  with  frontispiece,  42  pp.  Colchester,  n.d. 

CHRISTIAN  RELIGION'S  Appeal  from  the  groundless 
prejudices  of  the  Sceptic  to  the  Bar  of  Common  Eeason,  by 
J.  Smith,  Eector  of  St.  Mary's,  Colchester,  small  folio.        1675. 

COGGE  SHALL.  Its  History,  with  an  Account  of  the 
Church,  Abbey,  Manors,  &c.  by  G.  F.  Beaumont,  illustrated, 
8vo,  cloth,  7/6.  Coggeshall,  1890. 


COGGESHALL.  Eadulpbi  Abbatis  Coggeshal,  opera  qase 
supersunt  eurante  Alf.  John  Donkin,  nunc  Primum  edita,  8vo, 
boards,  uncut,  only  25  copies  printed,  scarce,  with  portrait  of 
Dunkin.  Noviomago,  1856 

COGGESHALL  (History  of,)  witb  an  account  of  its 
Church,  Abbey,  Manors"  &c,  by  G.  F.  Beaumont.  8vo., 
illustrated.  Coggeshall,  1890. 

COGGESHALL     (The    Annals    of,)    by    Bryan    Dale, 

sm.  8vo.,  illustrated.  Coggeshall,  1863. 

COPFORD,  ESSEX,  A  Short  Account  of  the  Church, 
Mural  Paintings,  etc.,  by  B.  Ruck-Keene,  with  View  of  Church, 
1/-  Coggeshall,  1890. 

DOMESDAY  BOOK,  relating  to  Essex,  translated  by 
T.  C.  Chisenhale  Marsh,  4to. 

DORLING'S  GUIDE  to  Walton,  Clacton  and  the 
neighbouring  Towns,  to  which  is  added  a  guide  from  Walton  to 
London  by  Steam  Boat,  cloth,  illustrated. 

DAGENHAM  BEACH,  by  Perry,  8vo.  1721. 

Ditto,  by  Boswell,  12mo.  1717. 

EAST  ANGLIAN  EARTHQUAKE,  on  April  22,  1884. 
Full  Report  on  it,  by  Raphael  Meldola  &  W.  White,  8vo,  with 
maps  and  illustrations. 
Vol.  1  of  the  Essex  Field  Club,  Special  Memoirs.  1885. 

EARTHQUAKE  IN  EAST-ESSEX,  on  April  22,  1884. 

Reprinted  from  the  Essex  Telegraph,  1/- 

ESSEX  FIELD  CLUB.  The  organ  of  this  Club, 
"  The  Essex  Naturalist,"  is  issued  monthly,  price  to  Members, 
4/6,  to  Non-Members,  9/-  per  annum.  Previous^  to  its 
commencement,  they  issued  Transactions  and  Proceedings,  the 
early  volumes  being  very  scarce. 

THE   REPRINTED   PAPERS  INCLUDE— 
Elephant  Hunting  in  Essex,  by  Walker. 
Report  on  Explorations  at  Arnbresbury  Banks 
Report  on  Explorations  at  Loughton  Camp. 
Report  on  the  Exploration  of  the  Essex  Deneholes. 
Lichen  Flora  of  Epping  Forest,  by  Crombie. 
Memoir  of  the  late  G.  S.  Gibson. 

Papers  on  the  protection  of  Wild  Animals  and  Plants,  and  on  the 
condition  of  Epping  Forest,  &c. 

For  special  Memoirs,  see- 
East  Anglian  Earthquake. 
Birds  of  Essex. 


ESSEX.  (Tbe  Ancient  Sepulchral  Monuments  of,)  by 
G.  F.  Chancellor,  4to,  illustrated,  £4  4s.  nett. 

ESSEX.  (The  people's  History  of,)  from  the  earliest 
ages  to  the  present  time,  with  account  of  the  Hundreds  and 
Boroughs,  and  descriptive  sketches  of  their  antiquities  and 
ruins,  &c,  by  D.  W.  Coller,  8vo,  Chelmsford.  1861. 

ESSEX  REVIEW.  A  quarterly  Journal  devoted  to 
the  study  of  the  antiquities,  &c.  of  the  County,  5/-  per  annum 
if  paid  in  advance,  1/6  per  part.  1892. 

ESSEX.  An  Historical  and  Chorographical  description 
of  the  county,  by  John  Norden,  1594,  reprinted  by  the  Camden 
Society.  1840. 

ESSEX.  (Durrant's  handbook  for,)  or  guide  to  the 
principal  objects  of  interest  in  each  Parish,  with  an  introduction 
treating  of  the  History,  Geology,  Antiquities,  &c.  of  the 
County,  by  Miller  Christy,  8vo,  237  pp. ,  2/6.  1887. 

EASTERN  ENGLAND.  (Royal  Illustrated  History  of,) 
Civil,  Military,  Political,  and  Ecclesiastical,  from  the  earliest 
period  to  the  present  time,  by  A.  D.  Bayne,  2  vols,  thick  8vo, 
Great  Yarmouth,  n.d. 

ESSEX.  The  History  and  Antiquities  of  the  County, 
by  P.  Morant,  Rector  of  St.  Mary-at-the-Walls,  Colchester 
2  vols,  folio.  1768' 

This  work  was  reprinted  (in  numbers)  in  1817,  at  Chelmsford, 
but  without  plates  or  date. 

Morant  also  issued    the   History   of    Colchester  separately. 
There  are  two  editions. 

ESSEX  DIALECT.  (A  glossary  of  the,)  by  Charnock, 
8vo.  1880. 

ESSEX.  The  History  and  Topography  of  the  County, 
by  Thomas  Wright,  illustrated  by  a  series  of  views  taken  on 
the  spot,  by  Arnold,  Bartlett  and  others,  4t:>,  mostly  in  two 
volumes.     '  1836. 

ESSEX.    (The  Farming  of),  a  report,  by  R.  Baker  of 

Writtle,  6d.  1844. 

EASTERN  ENGLAND,  from  the  Thames  to  the 
Humber,  by  W.  White,  with  map,  2  vols.  1865. 

ECCLESIASTICAL   ARCHITECTURE  of  the  County, 

from  the  Norman  Era  to  the  sixteenth  Century,  by  Hadfield, 
77  full-page  plates,  folio,  London,  n.d. 


ESSEX     COUNTY    ELECTION.     Speeches    delivered 

at  the  Hustings,  and  the  Proceedings  during  Fifteen  Days' 
Contest  between  Western,  Tyrell,  and  Wellesley,  in  1830,  with 
an  impartial  Selection  of  the  Squibs  and  Handbills. 

Chelmsford,  1830. 

ESSEX  HARMONY,  being  a  choice  collection  of 
Songs,  Catches,  Canons,  Epigrams,  &c,  for  two  to  nine  voices 
from  the  works  of  the  most  Eminent  Masters.  n.d. 

ESSEX  NOTE  BOOK  and  Suffolk  Gleaner,  "  A 
snapper  up  of  unconsidered  Trifles,"  containing  upwards  of 
400  Notes  of  Local  Interest  on  Matters  relating  to  County, 
illustrated,  sm.  4to,  cloth,  very  scarce,  15/-.  1884-5. 

ESSEX  (Excursions  in  the  County  of).  Historical  and 
Topographical  Delineations  of  every  Town  and  Village,  with 
Descriptions  of  the  Residences  of  the  Nobility  and  Gentry, 
100  engravings.  1818. 

ESSEX  (History  of)  from  Cox's  Britannue,  with  map  of 
Couiity,  103  pp. 

ESSEX  LITERARY  JOURNAL,  or  Monthly  Repository 

of  Literature,  and  the  Arts  and  Sciences  connected  with  the 
County,  issued  in  12  parts,  4to.  .Chelmsford,  1839. 

ESSEX.  A  new  and  complete  History  of  Essex,  from  a 
late  survey,  by  a  gentleman,  published  under  the  patronage  and 
direction  of  Peter  Muilman,  6  vols.,  illustrated, 

Chelmsford,  1769-72. 

The  fifteen  following  items  are  reprints  by  Charles  Clarke,  of 
Totham  ;  some  of  them  passed  through  several  editions,  mostly 
from  his  Private  Press. 

A  DOCTOR'S  "DO"-INGS;  or  the  entrapped  Heiress 
of  Witham.     A  satirical  poem,  by  Charles  Clarke. 

ENGLISH  COOKERY,  Five  Hundred  Years  ago, 
exhibited  in  sixty  "  Nyms,"  or  Eeceipts,  from  a  manuscript 
compiled  about  1390,  by  the  Master  Cooks  of  Richard  II. 
Black  Letter,  with  a  running  glossary  and  notes.  1849. 

FALSE  PROPHETS  DISCOVERED,  being  a  true  story 
of  the  lives  and  deaths  of  two  Weavers,  of  Colchester  ;  they 
affirmed  that  they  were  the  Prophets  mentioned  in  Revelation 
XL,  Reprinted  from  the  edition  of  1642,  with  an  Appendix, 
containing  an  account  of  the  Inworth  Prophetess  of  1797.    1844. 

FAIRLOP  AND  ITS  FOUNDER;  or  Facts  and  Fun  for 
the  Forest  Frolickers,  by  a  Famed  First  Friday  Fairgoer,  with 
the  curious  Will  of  Mr.  Day,  of  Wapping,  and  five  Poems  on 
Fairlop.  1847. 


HUMAN  FA.TE  :  a  Poem,  by  Sir  Egerton  Brydges. 
Reprint  by  C.  Clarke. 

JOHN  NOAKES  AND  MARY  STYLES;  or  "an  Essex 
Calf's  "  visit  to  Tiptree  Races  ;  a  Poem,  exhibiting  some  of  the 
most  striking  lingual  localisms  peculiar  to  Essex,  with  a 
Glossary.  1839. 

METRICAL  MIRTH  about  Marriageable  Misses  ;  or  the 
Modern  Mode  in  Matters  Matrimonial,  by  a  Lover  of  Honest 
Mothers  and  Gentle  Daughters.  1848. 

MIRTH  AND  METRE  ;  or  Rhymes,  "  Raps,"  and 
Rhapsodies,  by  C.  C. 

NARRATIVE  OF  THE  MIRACULOUS  CURE  OF 
ANNE  MUNNINGS,  of  Colchester,  by  Faith,  Prayer,  and 
Anointing  with  Oil,  in  1705. 

PLEASANT  QUIPPES  FOR  UPSTART  NEWFAN- 
GLED GENTLEWOMEN,  by  Stephen  Gosson.   Reprint  by  C.  C. 

POOR  ROBIN'S  TRUE  CHARACTER  OF  A  SCOLD ; 

or,  the  Shrew's  Looking-glass,  dedicated  to  all  Domineering 
Dames,  Wives  Rampant,  Cuckolds  Couchant,  and  Hen-peckt 
Sneaks,  in  City  or  Country  (reprinted  from  the  Edition  of  1678), 
Black  Letter.  1848. 

PULPIT  ORATORY,  four  Centuries  ago.  Two  sermons 
preached  in  1432. 

SCARCITY  AND  EXCELLENCY  OF  VIRTUOUS 
WOMEN,  by  J.  Colby,  of  Maldon.     Reprint  by  C.  C. 

TIPTREE  FAIR  IN  1844.     A  curious  specimen  of  the 

"  Unlettered  Muse,"  with  notes.  1848. 

TIPTREE  RACES;  a  Poem  (with  notes),  to  which  is 
added  an  Historical  Account  of  Tiptree  Heath,  Priory,  and  Fair; 
also  a  Poem  inscribed  to  Thomas  Hood,  Esq.,  of  Lake  House, 
Wemstead,  each  line  ends  with  4  rhymes. 

FOOTSTEPS  OF  St.  PAUL  IN  ROME,  by  S.  Russell 
Forbes,  a  native  of  Colchester.  It  gives  a  Genealogical  table 
tracing  the  descent  of  Helena  and  Constantine,  from  the  British 
King  Caractacus,  8vo,  illustrated.  2/- 

FELSTEAD  CHARITIES.  Scheme  for  the  management 
and  administration  of  the  Estates  and  Revenues,  approved  of  by 
the  Court  of  Chancery  in  1851,  8vo.  1852. 

FELSTEAD  SCHOOL  (A  History  of),  with  some 
account  of  the  Founder  and  his  Descendants,  by  John  Sargeaunt, 
8vo,  illustrated,  4/-  nett.  Chelmsford,  1889. 


FELIX  HALL  (Descriptive  Sketch  of  the  collection  of 
works  of  Ancient  Greek  and  Koman  Art  at) ;  a  paper  read  at 
the  Meeting  of  the  Essex  Archaeological  Society  in  1863,  by  the 
Eev.  J.  H.  Marsden,  4to,  illustrated,  scarce. 

GIBSON'S  FLORA  OF  ESSEX,  or  a  list  of  the 
Flowering  Plants  and  Ferns  found  in  the  County,  8vo.         1862. 

GUIDES.  These  are  too  numerous  to  mention  ;  they 
are  issued  for  almost  every  place  in  the  County,  and  in  many 
cases  there  are  several  editions. 

GIBBS,      JOHN,     formerly     Curator     of     Chelmsford 


First  Catechism  of  Botany,  1/-. 
Symmetry  of  Flowers,  6d. 

HALSTEAD,   Old  and    New,   by    W.    J.    Evans,    8vo, 

illustrated.  1886. 

HARWICH.  An  Historical  and  Archaeological  Sketch  of 
the  Town,  by  E.  Cutler.  Harwich,  n.d. 

HARWICH  (a  Season  at),  with  Excursions  by  Land  and 
Water,  to  which  is  added  Eesearches,  Historical,  Natural  and 
Miscellaneous,  by  Lindsey,  8vo.,  illustrated.  Harwich,  1851. 

HISTORY  OF  ESSEX  from  the  earliest  period  to  the 
present  time,  with  biographical  notices  of  the  most  distinguished 
natives,  by  Ogborne,  illustrated,  4to.  1814. 

HISTORICAL   RECORD   of  the   Forty-fourth,    or   the 

East-Essex  Eegiment,  by  Carter,  illustrated.        Chatham,  1887. 

HARWICH  AND  DOVERCOURT  (History  of),  by 
Dale,  4to.  1732. 

HEDINGHAM  CASTLE,  its  History;  by  Majendie, 
folio,  illustrated.  1796. 

HICKERINGILL  (Rev.  E.),  Rector  of  All  Saints  Church, 
Colchester. 

A  voluminous  writsr,  mostly  in  connection  with  legal  cases 
in  which  he  was  connected.   He  also  wrote  a  history  of  Jamaica. 

INOCULATION  (Sermon  in  defence  of),  preached  at 
Ingatestone,  in  1766,  by  E.  Houlton,  76  pp.,  scarce. 

Chelmsford,  n.d. 

JESUS  CHRIST  (Life  of),  the  Holy  Apostles.Evangelists, 
St.  John  Baptist,  the  Blessed  Virgin  and  others,  during  the  first 
three  Centuries,  by  P.  Wright,  Vicar  of  Oakley,  illustrated, 
folio.  N.D. 


LAW  FORD    HALL    (The    Hall    of).     Records    of    an 

Essex  House,  and  of  its  proprietors  from  the  Saxon  Times  to 
the  Eeign  of  Henry  VIII,  Illustrated,  by  F.  M.  Nichols,  42/-  nett. 

1891. 
Of    this    work    only     128    copies    were    printed    mostly   for 
presentation. 

MAPLE  STEAD.  History  and  Antiquities  of  the  Round 
Church,  with  an  Historical  sketch  of  the  Crusades,  by  Wallen, 
illustrated,  8vo.  1836. 

MEMORIALS      OF      THE      ANTIQUITIES      AND 

ARCHITECTURE,  Family  History  and  Heraldry  of  the  County, 
by  Suckling,  34  full  page  plates,  folio.  1845. 

MEMOIR  OF  CARTER,  the  Lip  Artist  of  Coggeshall, 
by  Dampier,  illustrated.  1850. 

MARSH,  (Dr.  W.,)  sometime  Rector  of  St.  Peter's, 
Colchester,  his  Life  by  his  daughter,  with  portrait,  8vo.       1867. 

NEWCOURT'S  REPERTORIUM.  An  Ecclesiastical 
Parochial  History  of  the  Diocese  of  London,  (this  Diocese 
then  included  Middlesex  and  Essex,  with  parts  of  Herts  and 
Bucks),  with  portrait,  2  vols.,  small  folio.  1708. 

NUMISMATOLOGY.  A  monthly  magazine,  devoted  to 
the  study  of  Coins,  edited  by  T.  Forster,  Colchester.  1892. 

PAPERS  in  relation  to  the  Aucient  Topography  of  the 
Eastern  Counties  of  Great  Britain,  and  on  the  right  means  of 
Interpreting  the  Roman  Itinerary,  by  Taylor,  4to.  1892. 

PAGLESHAM  OYSTER.  Music,  Charades,  Riddles,  &c, 
by  Harris,  Hatch  and  Wiseman,  4to.  Eochford,  1870. 

PLAIN  THOUGHTS  on  Prophecy,  by  W.  Marsh,  Vicar 
of  St.  Peter's,  Colchester,  8vo.  Colchester,  n.d. 

PARAPHRASE       ON      THE      LORD'S      PRAYER, 

Miscellaneous  Poems  and  Fables  in  Verse,  by  Mrs.  Winter,  of 
Manningtree,  8vo.  1852. 

POLL  BOOKS,  for  the  different  divisions  of  the  County, 
f©r  Colchester,  Chelmsford,  Maldon,  &c. 

PLESHEY.  Some  account  of  its  Lords  and  its 
Antiquities.  1885: 

PLESHEY.     Its  History  and  Antiquities,  by  Gough,  4to. 

1803. 


PROTOPLAST.  A  series  of  papers  on  the  beginnings  or 
First  mention  of  things,  the  subjects  treated  of  being  Matter, 
Day,  Law,  Sleep,  Sin,  Death,  Baptism,  Promise,  &c,  by 
Mrs.  Baillie,  of  Wivenhoe.    There  are  several  editions. 

R0CHFORD  HUNDRED  (The  History  of,)  by  Philip 
Benton  ;  has  been  coming  out  in  parts  for  some  years. 

ROYAL  ARCHAEOLOGICAL  INSTITUTE  OF 
GEE  AT  BRITAIN  AND  IRELAND.  Full  Report  of  the 
proceedings  at  the  Colchester  Meeting,  in  August,  1876. 

ROMFORD  (Memoirs  of  Old)  and  other  places  within 
the  Royal  Liberty  of  Havering-Atte-Bower,  by  George  Terry. 

Romford,  1880. 

STIFFORD,  and  more  about  Stafford,  by  Palin.     1871-2. 

SILKWORM  (The  Japanese,)  Bombyx  Yama-mai. 
Report  on  its  culture  in  England  in  1867-8,  by  A.  Wallace,  M.D., 
of  Colchester,  8vo,  1/-.  Colchester,  1869. 

SPORTSMAN'S  DIRECTORY;  or,  Park  and  Game- 
keeper's Companion,  with  a  description  of  all  kinds  of 
Poaching,  &c,  by  John  Mayer,  Gamekeeper,  12mo. 

Colchester,  1815. 

STOCK-HARVARD,"  its  Registers,  by  Gibson.         1881. 

TRUE  RELATION  of  that  Honourable,  though 
unfortunate  Expedition  of  Kent,  Essex,  and  Colchester,  in 
1648,  by  M.  Carter,  Quarter-Master  General  in  the  King's 
Forces,  and  one  of  the  Prisoners  who  surrendered.  There  are 
several  editions. 

TENDRING    HUNDRED    IN    THE    OLDEN   TIME. 

A  series  of  Sketches  by  J.  Yelloly  Watson,  of  Thorpe-le-Soken. 

N.D. 

TRADE  SIGNS  OF  ESSEX.  A  popular  account  of 
the  origin  and  meanings  of  the  Public  House  and  other  signs, 
now  or  formerly  found  in  the  County,  by  Miller  Christy,  8vo, 
illustrated.  1887. 

TOPOGRAPHICAL  and  Statistical  Descriptions  of  every 
County  in  England  and  Scotland,  with  separate  map  of  each 
county,  also  description  of  each  County  in  Wales,  with  2  maps, 
one  of  the  northern  and  the  otber  the  southern  counties,  by 
G.  A.  Cooke,  19  vols.  v.y. 

TWENTY-TWO  OF  THE  CHURCHES  OF  ESSEX, 
Architecturally  described  and  illustrated,  by  Buckler,  8vo.    1856. 


UPMINSTEK  (SketcheH  of),  by  Wilson,  sm.  4to.     1856. 

WALTHAMSTOW.  Its  Past,  Present,  and  Future 
History,  with  Notes  on  the  Objects  of  Interest  in  the  surrounding 
Neighbourhood,  8vo.  Tweedie,  Walthamstow,  1891. 

WALTHAM  ABBEY.  History  of  the  Town  and  Abbey 
from  the  Foundation  to  the  present  time  by  J.  Farmer,  to 
which  is  added  the  History  of  Abbeys  from  977  to  the  Keign  of 
Queen  Elizabeth.  1735. 

WALTHAM  HOLY  CROSS  ABBEY,  by  Buckler,   4to, 

illustrated. 

WALTHAM  ABBEY  (History  of,)  by  Fuller.  1840.